Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   MIDI Interface with two MIDI In ports [searching] (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=67717)

Dice125 2003-12-25 22:55

MIDI Interface with two MIDI In ports [searching]
 
hey, im trying to get a connection exactly like this, i have a midisport Uno, but that didnt help at all:P.

Evolution MIDI Out - MIDI Interface MIDI In 1
Control Freak MIDI Out - MIDI Interface MIDI In 2

MIDI Interface - Sound card MIDI In
Or MIDI Interface usb - usb port on computer.

can anyone recommend me one (interface)?

thanks!

dice.s [ 125 ] @ kombo-teck.

EditEd4TV 2003-12-26 23:00

Re: MIDI Interface with two MIDI In ports [searching]
 
http://bauman.freewebspace.com/images/Ed4Prop2.jpg
I have this interface at home:

http://www.zzounds.com/item--THKMIMMS22

I also have the same one, but packaged in a funky round Steinberg enclosure (I think it's the same i/o, same guts, just has the Steinberg plastic housing).

I use this for all things Reason, and it works good. I haven't tried sending into both inputs (A and B) at the same time, and seeing what the computer thinks of that - should be able to receive both MIDI signal flows at once and turn that into the USB signal and into the computer - as far as what happens after that, I don't know. Reason can't record two channels at once, so you would have to figure that out. But I think it is possible to have your Evolution send on MIDI channel 1 (for example), and your Control Freak on the same channel and then set Reason to... hey wait a minute.

http://www.kentonuk.com/products/cfrk_studio.shtml

This page here says that the Control Freak "Automatically merges with incoming MIDI data" - so you should be able to plug your Evolution into the Control Freak, and then send ONE MIDI signal out of the Control Freak on ONE MIDI cable that carries all the info you need... keyboard (Evolution) playing data and slider (Control Freak) moving data - so you can still use the MIDI i/o you already have.

:hey, im trying to get a connection exactly like this, i have a midisport Uno, but that didnt help at all:P.
:
:Evolution MIDI Out - MIDI Interface MIDI In 1
:Control Freak MIDI Out - MIDI Interface MIDI In 2
:
:MIDI Interface - Sound card MIDI In
:Or MIDI Interface usb - usb port on computer.
:
:can anyone recommend me one (interface)?
:
:thanks!
:
:dice.s [ 125 ] @ kombo-teck.
Check me out

Dice125 2003-12-27 10:35

Re: MIDI Interface with two MIDI In ports [searching]
 
HOLY CRAP!!
your right, im wrong! wow, you really saved me 70$!!

why didnt i think of this?!
geeez, i really got to lay off them alcohol's...sheesh.

anyway, thanks man!~
i really really appreciate it!

dice.s [ 125 ] @ kombo-teck.

EditEd4TV 2003-12-27 18:27

Re: MIDI Interface with two MIDI In ports [searching]
 
http://bauman.freewebspace.com/images/Ed4Prop2.jpg
Hey man, you're welcome!

For some strange reason, I actually get a kick out of coming to this forum and really helping people out. Something about finding solutions for people... I guess it's all about "better to give than to receive" or something like that. Glad I saved you $70 bucks! Cool! :)

:HOLY CRAP!!
:your right, im wrong! wow, you really saved me 70$!!
:
:why didnt i think of this?!
:geeez, i really got to lay off them alcohol's...sheesh.
:
:anyway, thanks man!~
:i really really appreciate it!
:
:dice.s [ 125 ] @ kombo-teck.
Check me out

Dice125 2003-12-27 20:27

checked your email lately?;)
 
checked your email lately?;)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:40.