Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Can Reason's sequencer work like Akai MPC sequencers? (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=71906)

soydog 2004-05-24 18:35

Can Reason's sequencer work like Akai MPC sequencers?
 
Can Reason's sequencer work like the sequencer in Akai MPCs in how songs are constructed?

I'm coming from working with the MPC2000 and I found it to be quite intuitive and powerful. But I see more potential in the softer side of things so I'm making the switch.

Here's basically how the MPC sequencer works:

1) You can record "sequences" (kinda like "patterns" in other hardware sequencers like RM1X) that can be made up of a number of tracks. These sequences can be of varying measures in length and time signatures.

2) You can duplicate a sequence and make a new one by editing it.

3) You can go into "Song mode" where you can string together the different sequences you've made and construct a song. For example, you can have a sequence that can be the intro, a sequence that is the bridge...etc.

Now, can Reason's sequencer also work like this? Or does it just work like a linear recording app?

jonyo 2004-05-24 21:06

Re: Can Reason's sequencer work like Akai MPC sequencers?
 
Reason does allow you to make groups of data, but the group can only contain data from one track, not all tracks. However, you can very easily select groups in multiple tracks at the same time and copy and paste them. You can also use the loop indicators to keep a certain section looping while you work on it. All of that being said, Reason's sequencer more of a linear sort of thing than the MPC, even with its grouping and looping feautres.

- R


Can Reason's sequencer work like the sequencer in Akai MPCs in how songs are constructed?
:
:I'm coming from working with the MPC2000 and I found it to be quite intuitive and powerful. But I see more potential in the softer side of things so I'm making the switch.
:
:Here's basically how the MPC sequencer works:
:
:1) You can record "sequences" (kinda like "patterns" in other hardware sequencers like RM1X) that can be made up of a number of tracks. These sequences can be of varying measures in length and time signatures.
:
:2) You can duplicate a sequence and make a new one by editing it.
:
:3) You can go into "Song mode" where you can string together the different sequences you've made and construct a song. For example, you can have a sequence that can be the intro, a sequence that is the bridge...etc.
:
:Now, can Reason's sequencer also work like this? Or does it just work like a linear recording app?

soydog 2004-05-25 01:44

Re: Can Reason's sequencer work like Akai MPC sequencers?
 
http://www.renoise.com/www/about_seq.gif
Hmm... I suppose I can always keep copying and pasting stuff on the linear timeline. It just seems like a cumbersome method to do it that way instead of being allowed to say "repeat this part 3 times" or something.

Anyway, I just came across this software called Renoise (as you can see above) which looks like what I was trying to describe. It's currently only for Windows and they're barely getting started with the alpha version for OS X, which I'm on.
Renoise

Tumult 2004-05-25 06:52

Re: Can Reason's sequencer work like Akai MPC sequencers?
 
As an owner of an RM1x, I know exactly what you're talking about :) You just can't beat that sort of thing for live gigs. Here is the product you're looking for: http://www.ableton.com/

The best part is that it works fantastically with Reason. I'm surprised nobody else has mentioned this yet, since it's a relatively popular product.
Ableton Live


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:30.