Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   The mystery device can't be rack mounted... (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=76105)

saulbass 2004-11-23 17:34

The mystery device can't be rack mounted...
 
I think something else is afoot.

If you look at the width of the 'Recombinator', you see it is 782 pixels wide. Also it doesn't have the standard rack ears (or any at all). So that means it couldn't fit into Reasons rack at all (even if they made the rack wider).

So I reckon it's a VST i/o device that runs Rebirthlike alongside Reason using Rewire.

Do I get a prize?

muntzing 2004-11-23 18:00

Re: The mystery device can't be rack mounted...
 
I think something else is afoot.
:
:If you look at the width of the 'Recombinator', you see it is 782 pixels wide. Also it doesn't have the standard rack ears (or any at all). So that means it couldn't fit into Reasons rack at all (even if they made the rack wider).

where do you get the figure 782 from?? the combinator i'm looking at has the same width as existing reason devices. the lack of rack screws is a mystery, though.

j.

saulbass 2004-11-23 18:23

Re: The mystery device can't be rack mounted...
 

I think something else is afoot.
::
::If you look at the width of the 'Recombinator', you see it is 782 pixels wide. Also it doesn't have the standard rack ears (or any at all). So that means it couldn't fit into Reasons rack at all (even if they made the rack wider).
:
:where do you get the figure 782 from?? the combinator i'm looking at has the same width as existing reason devices. the lack of rack screws is a mystery, though.
:
:j.


Sorry - my bad

Doing too many things at once as usual...

Still think having no ears means it won't fit in rack though.


random 2004-11-23 18:28

Re: The mystery device can't be rack mounted...
 
:Still think having no ears means it won't fit in rack though.

Maybe this minirack part will be in it's own window and it will have a static counter-part in the main rack..?

martyn356 2004-11-23 18:35

Re: The mystery device can't be rack mounted...
 

:Still think having no ears means it won't fit in rack though.

If the Props developed a version of reason that could be used inside Cubase, that had such a thing as a re-combinator that ..... you would think they would charge for that don't you?

It would make much more sense to develop a combination rack unit in Reason. Mixer - micro mixer, the look and feel, it's all Reason stuff.

Not sure while all the concentration on lack of screws... which aren't real screws anyway, they are just bits!

Cabinet 2004-11-23 18:36

Re: The mystery device can't be rack mounted...
 
http://www.designothingness.net/pic/...ellerheads.jpg
I think something else is afoot.
:
:If you look at the width of the 'Recombinator', you see it is 782 pixels wide.
:

I think you might refer on my .psd-file. Therefore: the 782 px width was a gues just to display the empty columns we had - since we have no piece no. 12 I resized the .psd and we're ending up with 757 px width.

But like I stated more than once: I think we're just seeing a part of the machine since the bottom line (blue selection square) is not like the lines from the three other sides. I guess there will be more to come...

Holy-moly, we'll end up putting pieces together for a whole packed rack and are just at the top of it!
Maybe... ;)
The Propellerheads-Puzzle as .psd

skuud 2004-11-23 18:36

Re: The mystery device can't be rack mounted...
 
it's a line mixer but what does it do ???????

martyn356 2004-11-23 18:43

Re: The mystery device can't be rack mounted...
 
it's a line mixer but what does it do ???????

You add in Reason devices - XT, 19s, Maelstroms with their effects and play them all at the same time from your keyboard or sequencer (mod wheel and pitch bend across all) - you'll need to manage the volumes of those devices before the sound gets to the main mixer - so the micro mixer is there to help you set up stereo field, volume and stuff like that.

it combines Reason devices into one patch, one sequencer track. Big awsome sound!

martyn356 2004-11-23 18:43

Re: The mystery device can't be rack mounted...
 
it's a line mixer but what does it do ???????

You add in Reason devices - XT, 19s, Maelstroms with their effects and play them all at the same time from your keyboard or sequencer (mod wheel and pitch bend across all) - you'll need to manage the volumes of those devices before the sound gets to the main mixer - so the micro mixer is there to help you set up stereo field, volume and stuff like that.

it combines Reason devices into one patch, one sequencer track. Big awsome sound!

jonyo 2004-11-23 19:18

Re: The mystery device can't be rack mounted...
 
Why are we all assuming this is a device for a next-rev Reason? I think this might be some totally separate application from Reason.

- R


I think something else is afoot.
:
:If you look at the width of the 'Recombinator', you see it is 782 pixels wide. Also it doesn't have the standard rack ears (or any at all). So that means it couldn't fit into Reasons rack at all (even if they made the rack wider).
:
:So I reckon it's a VST i/o device that runs Rebirthlike alongside Reason using Rewire.
:
:Do I get a prize?
:


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:27.