Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Mastering with the new m-class devices etc... (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=78541)

rpugwash 2005-02-23 00:21

Mastering with the new m-class devices etc...

hi guys,
ive heard it said on another thread up here, that m-class could/could not replace mastering engineers out in the field.

when i studied about Mastering bout 5yrs ago, we were told that the art of mastering is to 'take a production master (green label) and prepare it for its selected market (grey label master - ready for pressing/duplication)'

in other words (and experts forgive me if my colours are wrong... i AM colourblind and its the concept thats important yes!?!)..
yeah, in other words depending on whether you want to press a vinyl dance record, or you might want to make a CD or even have the thing destined to air on the radio or the TV (TV and radio mastering is very different it would seem) determines your approach to mastering your 'product'
then again, if your track will be performed live through a vega rig (to quote someone else on the other thread) then you wont need to compress your mix very much at all

mastering by definition is to make the absolute maximum sonic potential of your chosen medium.. and sound gaw-droppingly pleasing on the listener's/buyer's ears!

this will be different for CD as for TAPE as for VINYL as for RADIO as for TV as for LIVE PERFORMANCE as for MP3 as for anything else... oh yes... SA-CD is another one ;-)

theres really only one way to get to grips with mastering (apart from getting to work with doug sax or someone like that - pmsl we'll be lucky! - altho if youre reading this doug i make superb tea ;-) ..)

you just have to just try stuff out... get your mittens dirty (surgery with mittens on anyone? lol - nahh never mind)