Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Inspiration... (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=91600)

mccauld 2006-07-22 05:02

Inspiration...

Hi guys,

I've been with Reason since it first came out.I'm not a proper musician as such, but i know how to program drum rhythms, play chords and match up instrument loops and sounds by key, and generally work things out by ear. I like making funky stuff, mainly housey, breakbeat, electro sounding grooves, etc. I have always loved playing around in Reason, discovering new ways of doing things, and new ways to use the various modules. I've made loops, and even completed a few tracks which weren't bad.Reason was always my way of switching off from the world..just getting lost in music making and having fun... Now however, my problem is that lately I'm lacking the drive, motivation or inspiration to really develop new tracks or ideas. It's like I'm bored, or need a 'reason' to do it in the first place.. That feeling of exitement is not there any more and I can't find the inspiration to do what I used to love doing.What's wrong with me? Help!

nix808 2006-07-22 17:56

Re: Inspiration...

;)Hey darren06,
I wish I had something more inspirational than tech, but there is always new gear available. New sounds may arise if you change your kit a little. Are you interested in playing a keyboard or other instrument at all? The only other thing I can think of is working with other producers/sound crafters. Settling in with a mugga cuppa or beer with a like minded type sorta gets me back in the groove. I hope you find your muse,
Nix

danny_f 2006-07-22 18:08

Look to the secrets of nature and use them for your benefit.

Cheers.

KineticG 2006-07-22 18:40