Propellerhead Software
Old 2009-04-07, 16:15

Day Break beat....

This my first time posting a thread and I would like you to check out a song I made and leave some feedback please. Hope you enjoy.

The song is on my public profile page.

Nimrod
Old 2009-04-07, 20:31

i like it, started off kinda spooky then got some power too it, nice
Old 2009-04-07, 21:01

Very cool sound. am surprised at your "only DrRex" approach. But I really like the sound.

Bakka - Experimental / techno / rap crossovers project. Free albums on bandcamp.
Old 2009-04-08, 01:15

Thanks man. Do have any suggestions on other tools to use? I'm new with this reason program.
Old 2009-04-08, 10:00

Short answer. The long one is 404 pages long

Hey Nimrod,

I had a discussion yesterday with a friend about your track.... although it seemed obvious you were new to Reason, it seemed you have very good experience in music... My guess was former MPC user going straight for DrRex?

Here is an overview of my creative process, from a Reason point of view, hope it helps.

Rythmics:
I usually us a ReDrum & either step sequencer or padkontrol for my beats, but that might not be your cup of tea. If my guess is right on you being an MPC user, you'll feel more at ease with DrRex for cut up loops. For samples NNXT's your friend, except when inside a combinator where NN19 allows more programming once you get to it.
There are a few combinators around that aim to emulate an MPC. Haven't tried them myself though.

Scream 4 in disto or Warp give presence to your kick.

Bass:
Am all for Thor. I find readymade music loops are just .. not mine. Thor has great filters than can be made to yell a bit, used with analog or FM oscillators depending on your sound Thor is a very safe and easy to use synth. also very powerful once you get to know it. I'd recommend going for the Thor itself, no patches to learn it as fast as possible as it is (for me) the best sound generator in Reason.