Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2009-06-19, 13:57
datucker datucker is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Sequencer: Ghost copies of parts

My suggestion is to introduce 'Ghost copies' in the sequencer parts like in Cubase.

I mean by that: the original part is copied as a 'ghost'-part. If the original part is altered, the 'ghost'-copies of it, are automatically changed like the original.

Last edited by datucker; 2009-06-19 at 14:09.
  #2  
Old 2010-05-31, 15:03
zorci zorci is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
I miss that feature too. I'm an old Cubase user, and Ghost copying is an excellent feature of Cubase.
  #3  
Old 2010-06-01, 03:26
josb josb is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 118
What about the Blocks in Reason 5?
  #4  
Old 2010-06-01, 03:28
phasys's Avatar
phasys phasys is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9,887
Quote:
Originally Posted by josb View Post
What about the Blocks in Reason 5?
How would he know? The guy isn't even registered.
__________________
"Having unlimited choices can paralyze you creatively." - David Byrne

"Some questions simply do not deserve an answer." - Richard Dawkins

https://soundcloud.com/dutch-bastard

omfg one million megahurz CPU
  #5  
Old 2010-06-01, 03:29
dreampolice's Avatar
dreampolice dreampolice is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,045
Yea that sounds like blocks to me, so there ya go. Instant feature!
__________________
http://drunkpedestrians.com/
  #6  
Old 2010-06-01, 03:53
lowlifebware lowlifebware is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,216
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by datucker View Post
My suggestion is to introduce 'Ghost copies' in the sequencer parts like in Cubase.

I mean by that: the original part is copied as a 'ghost'-part. If the original part is altered, the 'ghost'-copies of it, are automatically changed like the original.
I thought this had been removed in Cubase, or maybe I had managed to turn it off in the prefs, but Cubase no longer does this thank gawd! Or at least mine doesn't any more, and I'll be f***ing pissed if it starts doing that crap again.

Oh well, if someone wants the feature fair enough, but please make it a preference or it will drive me nuts.

In the meantime.......... the OP should really just use the NN-XT for this kinda thing, cos that's really how Cubase was working when it was doing this, i.e. accessing one sample all the while, and then processing it in various different ways.

peace
B
  #7  
Old 2013-03-06, 19:33
jmp909 jmp909 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
+1

some sequencers do this well. when you edit the original (say "bass"), the ghost parts all update (expected default behaviour), but then if you edit a ghost part itself it knows you're branching off from the original and auto-creates a fresh part with an amended name eg (bass-1)

i would make that latter part optional, so that you can also edit the original by editing any ghost part if required. (a simple "link" toggle button in the edit window or something)
  #8  
Old 2013-03-06, 19:35
jmp909 jmp909 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
(i guess you could use a block per unique part, but it's not really what blocks were designed for. blocks are more like the old cubase "groups" where you select a bunch of parts, including part mutes, give them a group assignment and then you can repeat that section wherever you want)
  #9  
Old 2013-06-26, 00:08
lifer lifer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 14
duplicate feature: https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...ighlight=ghost

add your +1's!
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freebies for fans of Ghost Recon and those who are creative. Omnilimbo General Forum (read only) 1 2006-03-18 18:14
registering academic copy wingedwish General Forum (read only) 10 2004-02-21 09:31
Finally getting a copy of reason. zoopc General Forum (read only) 4 2004-01-17 12:32
Work around copy and paste in Rewire? deanhall Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2004-01-07 20:48


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:38.