Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > Feature Suggestion Forum

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2009-11-29, 07:48
eXode's Avatar
eXode eXode is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,489
Reason 5 needs something like this.

I know of at least one person that is going to agree.



I sure love my sphagetti!

The picture is a screenshot of the VOID Modular System
  #2  
Old 2009-11-29, 10:43
dioxide's Avatar
dioxide dioxide is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,290
Looks interesting, although I'll happily confess to not really understanding a lot of what is going on with the modules.

I'm quite liking Thor's modulation matrix approach to be honest and I'm hoping this will also make it easily expandable in future versions. For example it would be good to be able to route two separate signals from an FM pair oscillator for use in the mod matrix, and it wouldn't break compatibility with current patches.

Have you seen what U-He are up to at the minute with the ACE and Berlin Modular? I'm sticking with Thor myself but from my experience with Zebra, this stuff will sound good.
  #3  
Old 2009-11-29, 10:52
eXode's Avatar
eXode eXode is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,489
Quote:
Originally Posted by dioxide View Post
Have you seen what U-He are up to at the minute with the ACE and Berlin Modular? I'm sticking with Thor myself but from my experience with Zebra, this stuff will sound good.
I have just purchased the preview version of ACE. It sounds great! Actually it's one of the best sounding softsynth I've heard. The filters are brilliant! Quite a CPU hog with accurate setting though. Still at 69€ it's a bargain for such a flexible little synth.

Last edited by eXode; 2009-11-29 at 11:00.
  #4  
Old 2009-11-29, 10:55
eXode's Avatar
eXode eXode is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,489
Quote:
Originally Posted by dioxide View Post
I'm quite liking Thor's modulation matrix approach to be honest and I'm hoping this will also make it easily expandable in future versions. For example it would be good to be able to route two separate signals from an FM pair oscillator for use in the mod matrix, and it wouldn't break compatibility with current patches.
Well yeah, tbh I'd settle with a expanded thor as well. I'd love to double up on everything in Thor, you know add a "Page 2" button or something and add a larger Mod Matrix, maybe on a page of it's own as well. They could call it Odin or something like that!

Also I'd love to see new versions of both subtractor and malström that added mod-matrix's of their own. It would extend their usability considerably.

All dreams I guess, I doubt it would ever happen but it would be nice still.
  #5  
Old 2009-11-29, 21:19
sosoundz's Avatar
sosoundz sosoundz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 16
indeed could be fun!

id love to see a dedicated mod matrix rack with all parameters available in loaded project accessible, just seems much simpler to work with.

Damn tho, FL has stepped up!!!

Peaceout
  #6  
Old 2009-11-30, 01:19
lowlifebware lowlifebware is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,216
Smile

I do hope there is a "hide cables" facility.

210 GBP is pretty heavy going but I look at this thing and think it might just be worth it. Something similar in Reason 5 would certainly be kinky, I particularly like the thought of having those little scopes be connectable in modular fashion, and a CV out on those would be pretty immense.

As a GUI decision, I think it might benefit from a preference choice, where you can set it to have context menu dropdowns as opposed to the front panel wiring. Or even better have all of the wiring on the back, which would make it more flexible for use within Reason, and if it was worked as a "Master" global skin with some global audio/cv inputs, and a programmer window......

Yip, I like it
B
  #7  
Old 2009-11-30, 10:09
Rucafest's Avatar
Rucafest Rucafest is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,229
Thats what id also love to see with THOR, OSc Wav draw function, then you really can create anything.
  #8  
Old 2009-12-03, 12:23
playboy19's Avatar
playboy19 playboy19 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXode View Post
I know of at least one person that is going to agree.



I sure love my sphagetti!

The picture is a screenshot of the VOID Modular System
yes it sound like a powerful soft synth but I’ll have a deeper conclusion when i’ll get my hands on it! it would more than great to have this synth inside Reason along with other powerful soft synths that are out there!

as long as props want to keep Reason outside VST (which I found more than frustrating) I think its logical to collaborate with other soft and hardware manufactures (as they did with Line6 for Record) to develop their soft synths/effects for their closed protocol/code of Reason!

this way Reason will continue to be “closed” but most importantly it will be often updated with critical fresh devices, and we’ll don’t have to wait ages to see small updates in Reason!

Last edited by playboy19; 2009-12-22 at 15:45.
  #9  
Old 2009-12-03, 17:15
lofi1990's Avatar
lofi1990 lofi1990 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 755
that synth looks interesting, it looks like it creates a fully modular environment, no?

that would have benefits and drawbacks.

i don't think the props would implement something that would be that open. the stability of something like that would be questionable, and as you said, it is quite a cpu hog.

though the benefits would be uncompromising sound quality, which you would have be willing to sacrifice stability and cpu overhead for.

i think that you could achieve similar results with a combinator, multiple instances of thor, some clever cv routing, and some time and patience. though, that sort of defeats the purpose because the interface is really what makes this plugin.
__________________
NEW REFILL!!! MOD BASS FX - Sound Different
Visit www.lofi1990.com for more details and a FREE demo ReFill

  #10  
Old 2009-12-03, 18:26
playboy19's Avatar
playboy19 playboy19 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by lofi1990 View Post
i don't think the props would implement something that would be that open. the stability of something like that would be questionable, and as you said, it is quite a cpu hog.
when i'm saying "open" i mean something like a open code/protocol for the closed environment of Reason.
for example, Native Instruments (and almost all other companies) design their soft synths and effects in VST and AU, RTAS format. it would be more that great if props develop their own protocol "lets say RES" that would make the instruments/ effects of other companies to open inside Reason if they release it in "RES" format for Reason!

What do you think?
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
People just face it; Reason rules again! :) [n/t] eric General Forum (read only) 26 2011-08-02 01:49
How do I solve that factory sound bank thingie? vectro Phead User Forum (read only) 6 2009-05-19 20:11
Ableton live 4.0 Vs Reason 3.0 Xenesis99 General Forum (read only) 24 2008-12-17 17:22
Musikmesse - any news from the propellerhead booth? -nt electrofux General Forum (read only) 22 2007-03-31 18:25
Strange Pops in My NN-19. DJKS Phead User Forum (read only) 38 2004-09-19 17:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:15.