Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2010-08-23, 01:41
slightlyoffbeat slightlyoffbeat is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 41
Reason/Record Upgrade confusion - Ignition Key Driver Initialization Failed - FIXED

Hello,

I currently have Reason 4, and Record for Reason 1.0. I am about to purchase the Reason 5 upgrade, but there is some confusion as to which upgrade I should get. The FAQ states which upgrade you should buy if you have Reason and Record - but does this include Reason and Record for Reason? The confusion for me is that they exist both as separate applications, and as the Reason/Record for Reason duo. Any help here will be appreciated.
--

See message #12 for the fix. This resolved any question with regard to which upgrade to buy - I installed Reason 5 upgrade, which upgraded Record 1.0 to 1.5. The Initialization Failed error was related to Windows, not Record.

Thanks!

Last edited by slightlyoffbeat; 2010-08-28 at 20:55. Reason: title change
  #2  
Old 2010-08-23, 01:46
Firkin's Avatar
Firkin Firkin is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 554
Yep, same thing. Buy the "Reason 5 Upgrade".

F.
  #3  
Old 2010-08-23, 01:52
artsandrules's Avatar
artsandrules artsandrules is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 278
You should only have to buy the "Reason 5 Upgrade" box. You already own Reason 4 and Record 1.

I think some of the confusion is that Propellerhead is positioning Record 1.5 like it's something other than a typical free (downloadable) upgrade for existing Record 1 owners, maybe as a way to encourage Record sales. It's being handled pretty poorly in my opinion as evidenced by the number of questions being asked on the forums..
  #4  
Old 2010-08-23, 02:03
privteer's Avatar
privteer privteer is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 756
The one you need is "Reason 5 upgrade" that provides you a free upgrade for your Record.

In fact, ALL Record users could have their free upgrade (wich is more a super-update than an upgrade, like Reason 2.5 was) but as Reason 5 is needed to make R+R woking with Record 1.5, you need Reason 5.

This page is usefull : http://www.propellerheads.se/reason5...le&article=faq



And this one is easy to understand too if you scroll down a bit

EDIT : sorry, the time needed to make screenshots and upload them made me be late in answer
__________________
Say what you do... Do what you say... Think what you say... and always say what you think.
I'm a Reason'man, and what about you ?
Do you own Reason ??? this a good reason to buy it :
Loading SoundCloud…

Last edited by privteer; 2010-08-23 at 03:15.
  #5  
Old 2010-08-23, 02:48
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
Record standalone can just download 1.5 free of charge. If you upgrade any Reason to 5 then you download the free Record update. Where this fails is people running Reason and Record who want Neptune (free upgrade) but have to upgrade Reason to work with it (non free)
  #6  
Old 2010-08-23, 06:40
zillis's Avatar
zillis zillis is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 483
It's confusing, but simple.
I think the main confusion is this:
PH is confident that R+R owners accept Record as part of the Reason experience and want it to stay that way. When a Reason user UPGRADES through PH to Reason 5 - regardless of whether he/she has Record 1.5 or not - - R + R is shipped, encouraging Reason stand alone users to consider the Record for Reason owners upgrade.

Remember when you purchased "Record for Reason owners", PH considers it an upgrade to Reason - not additional software. What you actually got was R + R with a different sleeve over the box - at the "upgrade" price.

So this time, when you "upgrade" to Reason 5, you're going to get the new R+R at an "upgrade" price again.

A Record 1.0 standalone user deciding to purchase Reason 4 or 5 also gets a discount "upgrade" price on Reason, but R+R is what is actually shipped.

Follow the logic?
  #7  
Old 2010-08-23, 06:59
Firkin's Avatar
Firkin Firkin is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 554
Quote:
Originally Posted by zillis View Post
Follow the logic?
No, sorry, that makes no sense at all.

F.
  #8  
Old 2010-08-23, 07:24
zillis's Avatar
zillis zillis is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 483
I'll try again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firkin View Post
No, sorry, that makes no sense at all.

F.
When I ordered "Record for Reason Owners", I got R+R. Not some specially packaged version of software, but just R+R. The sleeve (called an O-card in the printing biz) on the box had the "+ Record" symbols, but it was the R+R bundle. The same bundle that costs a PH newbie $500.

Did you get something different?

I don't think there's any difference between Reason, Reason + Record, Record for Reason Owners, or Reason for Record Owners - just different pricing based on how much you've already invested in PH products.

I could be wrong. And perhaps it doesn't seem relevant, but it's not a question of which software to buy, rather how much you'll pay for it, cuz I suspect it's the same package.
  #9  
Old 2010-08-28, 04:47
slightlyoffbeat slightlyoffbeat is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 41
Here's what I think the difference is- after reading the responses to this thread. I went out and purchased the Reason 5 upgrade. The Reason 5 upgrade installs just fine. I attempted to download and install the Record upgrade to 1.5, but I keep getting this driver installation error. This may simply be the way that it's supposed to work.

I have (boxes in front of me) Reason 4, Reason 5 Upgrade and Record for Reason Owners. Neither myself, the people responding to my question here, nor the people at Guitar Center could come to understand that if you need to upgrade Record for Reason, apparently, it's a *different* upgrade. So now I'm wondering if propellerheads can do anything to make this right. Guitar Center has made it emphatically clear that they will not accept returns on opened software.
  #10  
Old 2010-08-28, 04:55
Exowildebeest Exowildebeest is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3,777
Slightlyoffthebeat: Isn't the Record 1.5 upgrade on the Reason 5 upgrade DVD? It was on mine and it installed fine (not automatically though, I had to open it from the folder).

I had Record 1 and Reason 4 seperately though. So this probably won't fix your problem, but it might be worth a try.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Friggin' great Reason/Record upgrade path for you wannabuyers ;) ChrisIhao General Forum (read only) 6 2010-05-21 14:18
Propellerheads Reason/Record Upgrade mikephono Phead User Forum (read only) 2 2010-04-05 22:29
Reason 3.0 upgrade package confusion! Dogboy1973 General Forum (read only) 15 2005-03-10 00:24
Reason 3.0 upgrade package confusion! Dogboy1973 General Forum (read only) 0 2005-03-09 00:54


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:51.