Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2011-02-01, 23:01
DaCapo DaCapo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 79
Wink Blocks Player Device

Hey All,

what do you think about a Blocks Player Device??!

It must work like this:

-You normally programm your Patterns in Blocks Mode.

-You create the Blocks Player Device and assign your Blocks to Notes across the Keyboard (this may can be done by Reason automaticly)

-Now you can "play" your Blocks in the Sequencer.

This MUST Be alot Fun.

Capo
  #2  
Old 2011-02-02, 11:24
Koshdukai's Avatar
Koshdukai Koshdukai is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,069
What happens if you add 2, 3, 10 of those "Blocks Player Device" to the rack ?

How would those work ?

and... being a device, it would accept a MIDI track controlling it, correct?

So, how would it work when those tracks were themselves in Blocks ?

Could you please explain how your suggestion would be possible to implement, please ?

Thanks
__________________
Suggestions: Tags; Scope; Itch; IK OnlineAuth; New?; +1; RTFM
  #3  
Old 2011-02-02, 12:12
wizardry's Avatar
wizardry wizardry is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 279
how about able to export are songs/beat as mp3's?
  #4  
Old 2011-02-02, 13:19
DaCapo DaCapo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koshdukai View Post
What happens if you add 2, 3, 10 of those "Blocks Player Device" to the rack ?

How would those work ?

and... being a device, it would accept a MIDI track controlling it, correct?

So, how would it work when those tracks were themselves in Blocks ?

Could you please explain how your suggestion would be possible to implement, please ?

Thanks
Hey,

thanks for your reply.

You are right, it can not work as a device.
I think it can work like this:

1. If you enable blocks mode, the sequencer automaticly comes up with the "Blocks Automation Track"
In this Track you can easily "play and record" your song structur with your midi controller into your squencer.

It can be like:

Block 1 -> Note C2
Block 2- > C#2
Block 3-> D2

What do you think?
  #5  
Old 2011-02-02, 13:29
Koshdukai's Avatar
Koshdukai Koshdukai is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,069
Yup, that would work

Also, there's really no need for an extra track when we already have the Transport track that does nothing when targeted.

Also, I'm not sure about mapping notes to blocks (although useful, from a user point-of-view), it looks like a more sensible solution (from a technical point-of-view) to have automation lanes, like the pattern based devices have: ReDrum, Matrix, Dr.(Octo)Rex.

And also like those, to have a Remote (the thing that sits between MIDI and Reason/Record) Block Selection controls, both direct 1 to 32 and inc/dec (and delta) selection controls.
__________________
Suggestions: Tags; Scope; Itch; IK OnlineAuth; New?; +1; RTFM

Last edited by Koshdukai; 2012-04-07 at 23:52.
  #6  
Old 2011-02-02, 15:05
DaCapo DaCapo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 79
Hey,

yes thats right.
There also is a block mode track (where u can draw your blocks in) already in the sequencer.
But i dont want to draw my blocks, i wanna play them into the sequencer.

I just wanna control the "Block Mode Track" with my Keyboard or my MPD. Thats all! :-)
  #7  
Old 2011-02-02, 22:02
selig's Avatar
selig selig is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,512
You are not the first to request this, which is a good sign!

This is more or less the way Studio Vision used to work - with SV you could either use the a-z keys or MIDI notes to trigger sequences (blocks) in real time. You could also type a 'list' offline (without anything playing) to compile your playback track. When using MIDI notes to trigger blocks, of course you just record them in any MIDI track! I've built songs using Octapads to trigger each section, recording the performance to 'arrange' the song.

A while back I seem to remember suggesting an approach (pre 'blocks') that used the 32 pattern approach for song building. Seemed like a logical way to go, building on the existing paradigms rather than creating a totally new concept. Hopefully Blocks can be expanded to include these useful features.
  #8  
Old 2012-03-16, 14:33
rogerlevy rogerlevy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koshdukai View Post
What happens if you add 2, 3, 10 of those "Blocks Player Device" to the rack ?

How would those work ?

and... being a device, it would accept a MIDI track controlling it, correct?

So, how would it work when those tracks were themselves in Blocks ?

Could you please explain how your suggestion would be possible to implement, please ?

Thanks
i think it could just mix them together ... then you could have one device playing a beat block and another playing a melody or pads block and mix them up.
  #9  
Old 2012-04-07, 17:55
nobeahmon's Avatar
nobeahmon nobeahmon is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,381
I like the idea of a dedicated device.

Think something like Dr. Octo Rex but with 32 buttons/slots for each block, it would display block names etc. Also instead of "trigger next loop" we can have trigger next block, with options to set to Bars, Beats 1/16. As we are limited to 32 blocks at the moment, all we would need is one device. When we have more than 32 blocks we then can have the ability to create other block player devices.

I think the block player can just record your performance in the block lane we have now in the sequencer. When you are done with your performance just edit it to your hearts content.
__________________
The more music you make.
The less you worry about RE SDK.
  #10  
Old 2011-02-24, 23:08
Droog's Avatar
Droog Droog is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 641
some sort of god like tempo controlling, vector automation device for the rack , which can automate any parameter of the device its attached too, add onto that a polyphonic pattern sequencer , and another panel for triggering or chaining patterns.

job done.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:25.