Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2011-02-24, 19:26
digit digit is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 27
Thumbs up kaos pad inspired EFX unit?

i think a effects like Korgs kaos pad would be a great addition to Reason, with multi fx processing and multiple banks, the MIDI controllers are out there ready to be exploited! for example imagine X- being a lowpass filter and Y- being highpass..... you would effectively have your own varible bandpass, which having used a kaos pad is awsome for swirly pads and even reece basses! who's with me????

DIGIT
  #2  
Old 2011-02-24, 21:24
penguinoid's Avatar
penguinoid penguinoid is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,364
why not just put a low and a high pass filter in a combinator, map the frequencies to two knobs, and then map those to your xy controller. minus the cool lightshow and xy pad, a Kaoss pad is not all that dissimilar from two knobs on any other controller. not knocking the kaoss pad mind you, I've got one, just sayin' this is the way it is.

Last edited by penguinoid; 2011-02-24 at 21:26.
  #3  
Old 2011-03-01, 23:40
digit digit is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 27
thats a fair point actually. spose you could do that same for any effects....just lacks the visual reprentation
  #4  
Old 2011-03-02, 00:22
penguinoid's Avatar
penguinoid penguinoid is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,364
yeah, I mean, the KP doesn't really offer much in the way of effects that can't be reproduced in software, people get the KP because it's a lot of fun just flicking around on the pad to get gestural expressions, it has a little sample bank that can mash up drumloops, etc... honestly, a lot of the time, I end up just using it in midi mode in Ableton, and map it to the xy pad (or two separate effects) in there. I don't think Reason needs "effects like korgs kaoss pad" because really, the delays and reverbs are pretty bad, the filters are kinda fun, but I mostly just use it's built-in effects for bitcrushing, looping, and granular mayhem.
  #5  
Old 2011-03-03, 02:39
digit digit is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 27
thats true, a X Y pad on the combinator would be useful though. just for ease
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your Favorite Unit right here Ogggy Phead User Forum (read only) 9 2006-12-07 20:33


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:46.