Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2011-07-13, 20:17
knightingale's Avatar
knightingale knightingale is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 12
Classical + usage suggestions

I understand that most users are in the electronic music world (pop, rock, techno, etc.), hence most features built in Reason, as well as other products, are targeted for them. But what about classical composers, I feel we are quite neglected in terms of special features, templates, etc.

As for usage suggestions:
1- Entering exact levels (volume, pan, etc..) using keyboard as knobs are not easily adjusted and sometimes shift by "+/- 1".
2- Selecting a block of tracks to have common attribute (e.g. volume level).
3- Expand the color palette to use windows colors instead of being limited.

Thank you.
  #2  
Old 2011-07-13, 21:14
fieldframe's Avatar
fieldframe fieldframe is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 490
I'm honestly intrigued as to how symphonic composers use Reason. I always assumed they just used Sibelieus and then either recorded live performances for quartets, etc. or used something like Cubase with EastWest/QuantumLeap for full orchestra (or a real orchestra if they have the budget).

Nothing wrong with a stack of NN-XTs (especially if you're rocking some nice Miroslav samples with them), but Reason seems like an unusual choice if you're not at least doing some electronic/pop elements with your orchestration.
  #3  
Old 2011-07-13, 21:36
clarktw's Avatar
clarktw clarktw is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 6,280
Just in case you guys may not have seen and heard ekoutalas’ fine works - https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=125957 .
__________________
www.soundcloud.com/clarktw .....
  #4  
Old 2013-06-26, 12:49
knightingale's Avatar
knightingale knightingale is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 12
It's been a while since my original post. During that time I believe that I have gone a long way using Reason as a classical or for orchestra. There are several good quality orchestra libraries available now, which augment Reason capabilities. However, there are still more needed and most of all I believe, and out of experience, is the a way to view and work on all tracks simultaneously, or in other words on a full score. composing orchestral music using piano-roll, jumping from one track to another is quite a tedious job! Honestly, I have considered moving to other programs like Sibelius or Finale however, I must say that I am very much used to Reason and I feel it's quite hard for me to change it!
  #5  
Old 2013-06-27, 17:11
QVprod's Avatar
QVprod QVprod is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,591
http://www.notionmusic.com/products/notion4.html Rewire compatible notation software. Probably your best bet for now I'd be surprised to see notation in Reason anytime soon.
  #6  
Old 2013-06-29, 11:01
knightingale's Avatar
knightingale knightingale is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 12
Thank you for the advice. I have visited notionmusic.com I presume that your advice is based on some experience. So I assume that "Notion 4" does reWire with Reason. So my question, if you have tried it, how about ease of use or common practice?
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU usage suddenly increases after 3 minutes cyberco General Forum (read only) 7 2002-11-20 17:29


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:23.