Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2011-12-12, 04:25
grilch's Avatar
grilch grilch is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 7
Tempo Stretching Question

While I'll admit Reason's time-stretching sounds pretty good, I feel like I do sometimes detect a little artifact in there and in most cases I want my audio tracks to remain "pristine" and not resampled in any way by changing the tempo. Overall, I want to keep them at the original tempo at which they were recorded so they retain their original quality.

Here's the situation: Let's say I record some audio tracks (non-MIDI) at 120 bpm but I decided to make an exception and record my guitar shred track or whatever at a slower tempo. If I slow everything down to, say, 85 bpm Reason will perform its time-stretching magic and the tracks will be altered. OK, so I record my guitar slowly to perform it more accurately and then bring the tempo back up to the original 120 bpm that everything else (besides the shred guitar) was recorded at.

My question is, will my other audio tracks go back to their "pristine", non-time stretched state when I go back up to the original tempo at which they were recorded? Or will Reason resample from 120 bpm to 85 bpm and then resample AGAIN to get back to 120 bpm? In other words, what are the risks of time-stretching artifact build-up? How does the time-stretching really operate? Does that make sense?

Thank you in advance to anyone who knows about this.

Man, I love Reason 6 so much. I'm having so much fun with it.

Last edited by grilch; 2011-12-12 at 04:28.
  #2  
Old 2011-12-12, 04:30
Lunesis's Avatar
Lunesis Lunesis is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6,977
I'm thinking the wav retains its original tempo. You can even right click the audio track and select 'disable stretch' for reassurance
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
  #3  
Old 2011-12-12, 05:37
selig's Avatar
selig selig is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,510
If it didn't keep the original file, a few tempo changes back and forth is all it would take to ruin the audio completely! This is true for Transpose too, btw. :-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
  #4  
Old 2011-12-12, 05:46
Anomecron's Avatar
Anomecron Anomecron is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,904
Quote:
Originally Posted by selig View Post
If it didn't keep the original file, a few tempo changes back and forth is all it would take to ruin the audio completely! This is true for Transpose too, btw. :-)
Sometimes that totally destructed sound can be exactly what you're after I must confess.
Stretch, sample, stretch back, resample, transpose, resample, detune in NNXT resample then stretch it back to it's original tempo.
One thing I like about the MPC is if you continually resample you get this absolutely bastardised version of the original source and similar results can be achieved in Reason.
Whilst artefacts are not always a good thing, people often often look, transposing, sampling, stretching resampling and then getting something back that's akin to the original but with a totally different timbre and feel to the source material as a form of effects processing in itself.
For example - detuning a sample then using neptune to pitch shift it back to it's original tempo can yield the sort of artefact riddled stretched sample effect that Akai S950's did so well.
  #5  
Old 2011-12-12, 07:46
Bretstradamus's Avatar
Bretstradamus Bretstradamus is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,449
I recently had to do this while recording a song last week. I cut out the section of the song that was to be slowed down, and then made a copy of all the tracks in that section and pasted it after the end of the actual song. I slowed that section down and recorded what I needed to there. After I was done, I moved the recorded audio to the correct position in the song and deleted the copied tracks. This way, you never have to worry about permanently altering the other tracks.
__________________
My Music: http://bretstradamus.com
My Band: http://www.bellamuertemusic.com
  #6  
Old 2011-12-14, 02:14
grilch's Avatar
grilch grilch is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 7
Great idea! I think that's the solution to protect the original tracks. Thanks very much for the feedback eveyone.
  #7  
Old 2011-12-14, 02:45
selig's Avatar
selig selig is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by grilch View Post
Great idea! I think that's the solution to protect the original tracks. Thanks very much for the feedback eveyone.
Sure, except there's nothing to protect them from in the first place! :-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stretching samples to the same tempo in Record? dannyyoung Phead User Forum (read only) 8 2011-09-12 06:41
Tempo question rosleck Phead User Forum (read only) 7 2009-10-31 21:15
Stupid question but can you change the tempo of DR rex loop? mitchtron General Forum (read only) 3 2003-03-04 18:32
NewUser question: Tempo of mapped samples?? Vdrum General Forum (read only) 2 2003-02-17 23:31


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:36.