Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > Music Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2011-12-22, 23:30
bassaddiction bassaddiction is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 41
can reason match the sound of real hardware?

I've bought reason 6 a few days ago, i was planning to make hardstyle using reason..
I have to say i love how reason has the look and feel of real hardware, however when i export my songs and even in reason itself, it seems like the sound is missing oomph. it sounds empty and to be honest it sounds like shit.
I did not notice it when i was working on a track, but after i exported my track and listen to it after i listened to some tracks from a hardstyle cd i noticed a world of difference, reason sounds flat and lacks oomph...

i am not sure if it is because i am doing something wrong while mastering or something but the sounds dont sound full and sound a bit computer-like. I have a pretty decent sound card, so i dont think it has anything to do with that. i am so disappointed, i feel like i wasted 400 euro's while i could have spend that on hardware :C.

should have listened to what my mummy used to tell me, if something sounds to good to be true it probably is :C.
  #2  
Old 2011-12-22, 23:48
Joumb's Avatar
Joumb Joumb is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 575
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassaddiction View Post
I've bought reason 6 a few days ago, i was planning to make hardstyle using reason..
I have to say i love how reason has the look and feel of real hardware, however when i export my songs and even in reason itself, it seems like the sound is missing oomph. it sounds empty and to be honest it sounds like shit.
I did not notice it when i was working on a track, but after i exported my track and listen to it after i listened to some tracks from a hardstyle cd i noticed a world of difference, reason sounds flat and lacks oomph...

i am not sure if it is because i am doing something wrong while mastering or something but the sounds dont sound full and sound a bit computer-like. I have a pretty decent sound card, so i dont think it has anything to do with that. i am so disappointed, i feel like i wasted 400 euro's while i could have spend that on hardware :C.

should have listened to what my mummy used to tell me, if something sounds to good to be true it probably is :C.
You haven't wasted 400 euro and I'm sure you just have to grow acquainted to the different mastering and effect options. The sound of 'real' hardware? You mean how it hums, crackles and breaks? Well you could probably use some white noise in Thor to reproduce some of these characteristics :-))))))))))))
__________________
[COLOR="DarkRed"]Get your kicks.....on Route Reason 6 [COLOR="Teal"]:-) :-) [COLOR="Blue"]

https://soundcloud.com/joumb
  #3  
Old 2011-12-23, 00:09
bassaddiction bassaddiction is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 41
i feel reason is good as a vst, or to get an idea down fast.
for producing a track it's no good.
  #4  
Old 2011-12-23, 00:13
Smedberg's Avatar
Smedberg Smedberg is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,094
Ok, let's hear what's wrong with these?
http://www.propellerheads.se/downloa...on/demo-songs/
__________________
Pressing "PLAY" is NOT a live performance...
It's called "playback"
  #5  
Old 2012-08-02, 17:19
bassaddiction bassaddiction is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 41
a lot, first of all i dont like any of the songs, 2nd its not hardstyle :P
  #6  
Old 2013-01-15, 00:11
emersound's Avatar
emersound emersound is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassaddiction View Post
a lot, first of all i dont like any of the songs, 2nd its not hardstyle :P
Holy crap... Don't you know that HardStle is the most difficult type of music to produce just due to the fact that the sound is supposed to be mashed and have no dynamic range? If you want to make real HardStyle in reason you will have to take in account for the fact you are using digital audio stream, and that the Mastering Limiter may be way too precise, a bit of sound advice. Don't mastering limit your mix, if you want to preserve that punch I recommend you get that done by an experienced mastering engineer so that the sound doesn't sound flat. Second issue it could be is that you're exporting to 16-bit without dithering. Also, don't mix by boosting things, thirdly don't EQ by boosting things so much. try to keep your dynamics free and organic. Mastering limiters are too tempting for your type of musicians to use too liberally, because you want it louder, and louder and you have it in your headphones when you mix so you can't hear how it affects your room. Get some monitors. By the way Reason can still kick hardware in the ass if you use it right. and my response was everywhere because there was so much OMG in your post.
  #7  
Old 2011-12-24, 13:23
claas claas is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassaddiction View Post
i feel reason is good as a vst, or to get an idea down fast.
for producing a track it's no good.
No, it's not the software. Reason is as good as any tools. It's not important, if you use hard- or software, your skills are the most important point. Using a tool only for a few weeks makes you never as good as a pro. There are many pros in the world who uses Reason as a main tool for their tracks. And there are many musicians who uses tons of expensive hardware without producing one good track.

There is two important rules in making a track: 1. Do not master your tracks by yourself.
2. Practice, practice, practice

After months of practicing you will see that Reason can be a good tool. For me it is so good, that I sold my hardware, because all I need is in Reason 6.

Greetings, claas
  #8  
Old 2011-12-24, 14:50
Kovkov's Avatar
Kovkov Kovkov is online now
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 881
Quote:
Originally Posted by claas View Post
No, it's not the software. Reason is as good as any tools. It's not important, if you use hard- or software, your skills are the most important point.
Exactly. A lot of people don't understand that it's basically just about "A": frequency and amplitude over time and "B": the way the human ear reacts to that. Reason (as every other daw/electronic hardware too) has everything in it to manipulate "A". Our part as users is too know what we have to manipulate in what manner to achieve our desired result.
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
  #9  
Old 2011-12-23, 07:06
PeterLansford PeterLansford is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,226
...just make sure you're utilizing the MClass Effects.
  #10  
Old 2011-12-23, 07:56
Lunesis's Avatar
Lunesis Lunesis is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6,947
I just find it hilarious how much people underestimate the amount of work it takes to make a song sound good.

"Hey guys, I bought Reason 6 last week but I can't get it to sound like my favorite artist... something must be wrong with the software!"
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Analysis of Reason & Fair Product Pricing Strategy Concept To Sort Things Out scottym Phead User Forum (read only) 18 2011-10-04 00:58
review:All reason Synthesizer sound high end! wangyuechao Phead User Forum (read only) 6 2007-10-16 05:09
Strange Pops in My NN-19. DJKS Phead User Forum (read only) 38 2004-09-19 17:30
Reason = profesional tool... yes and now (very long ) miziq General Forum (read only) 10 2002-12-19 07:57


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:38.