Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2012-01-03, 12:43
Biometric Biometric is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 19
My Balance is quiet.

Greetings, fellow Reason / Record / Balance users.

I have the following problem: My balance audio interface is very quiet. I have a late 2009 iMac and Balance's headphone output only manages about a quarter of what the built-in audio card can deliver in volume.

If I may quote:

Powerful headphone amplifier No headphones are too tough for Balance's powerful headphone amp, ensuring earshattering volumes with even the quietest of headphones.


What's going on here?
  #2  
Old 2012-01-03, 12:49
BonezMcCoy's Avatar
BonezMcCoy BonezMcCoy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by Biometric View Post
Greetings, fellow Reason / Record / Balance users.

I have the following problem: My balance audio interface is very quiet. I have a late 2009 iMac and Balance's headphone output only manages about a quarter of what the built-in audio card can deliver in volume.

If I may quote:

Powerful headphone amplifier No headphones are too tough for Balance's powerful headphone amp, ensuring earshattering volumes with even the quietest of headphones.


What's going on here?
Disclaimer: I don't have Balance.

A few possibilities:

1. You're going deaf!
2. Headphones Level not high enough?
2.5 Headphones have their own volume level and it is not set appropriately?
3. Bad (broken) cans?
4. System sound output level too low?
5. A Leprachaun?
  #3  
Old 2012-01-03, 12:55
Biometric Biometric is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 19
1. You're going deaf!
Definitely not.

2. Headphones Level not high enough?
Everything computerinternal maxed. Balance headphone output maxed. I'm using a pair of Beyerdynamic DT-770 pro, so no headphone volume control.

2.5 Headphones have their own volume level and it is not set appropriately?
See 2.


3. Bad (broken) cans?
Headphones work like a charm, deliver full, crystal clear sound via the chea built in iMac soundcard. 4 times the level I might add.

4. System sound output level too low?
See 2.

5. A Leprachaun
Maybe, but highly unlikely.
  #4  
Old 2012-01-03, 12:58
martinb98's Avatar
martinb98 martinb98 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 648
Hi B
I'm not a Mac user but a friend is, he had a problem like this , it turned out the volume on his Mac was very low,
there for, his Duet IO had very little level. I thought if you enable your IO on a Mac it would disable internal sound ,
maybe not . Something to check maybe
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…


Martin
http://soundcloud.com/itchy-brother-music
Melbourne Australia
  #5  
Old 2012-01-03, 13:01
Biometric Biometric is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 19
Good call, I checked the Audio Midi Utility and was able to fix the problem. For some reason the system had turned down both individual channels down to about 25 percent, which is why they were quiet even when both the internal master and balance's master were maxed. Thanks for the help.
  #6  
Old 2012-01-03, 14:12
domain domain is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 166
Damn leprechauns
  #7  
Old 2012-01-03, 14:34
mrkinnies mrkinnies is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Biometric View Post
Greetings, fellow Reason / Record / Balance users.

I have the following problem: My balance audio interface is very quiet. I have a late 2009 iMac and Balance's headphone output only manages about a quarter of what the built-in audio card can deliver in volume.

If I may quote:

Powerful headphone amplifier No headphones are too tough for Balance's powerful headphone amp, ensuring earshattering volumes with even the quietest of headphones.


What's going on here?
Hi there,

Having read a few reviews on Amazon and Sound On Sound, the general consensus is that the headphone level can be quiet even when on max....which is a shame cos I have some DT770 250ohm cans on order and have just acquired Balance myself. I'll let you know how I get on with the Beyer headphones when they arrive although my output goes through a separate amp so if the direct output on Balance is poor I'll use the phone socket on the amp instead.

I will say that I'm currently using a cheap pair of Philips headphones with tiny impedence (8 ohms I think) and although they sound crap, the volume is very good on Balance. I imagine the 250ohms impedance on the Beyers will reduce the sound level and maybe that is the problem you are experiencing....too much resistance.

cheers

Edit: I see that you've sorted it anyway - It always pays to read the full conversation, lol! Glad you've got it under control.

Last edited by mrkinnies; 2012-01-03 at 14:36.
  #8  
Old 2012-01-03, 15:31
MattiasHG's Avatar
MattiasHG MattiasHG is offline
Propellerhead
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,429
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkinnies View Post
Hi there,

Having read a few reviews on Amazon and Sound On Sound, the general consensus is that the headphone level can be quiet even when on max....which is a shame cos I have some DT770 250ohm cans on order and have just acquired Balance myself. I'll let you know how I get on with the Beyer headphones when they arrive although my output goes through a separate amp so if the direct output on Balance is poor I'll use the phone socket on the amp instead.

I will say that I'm currently using a cheap pair of Philips headphones with tiny impedence (8 ohms I think) and although they sound crap, the volume is very good on Balance. I imagine the 250ohms impedance on the Beyers will reduce the sound level and maybe that is the problem you are experiencing....too much resistance.

cheers

Edit: I see that you've sorted it anyway - It always pays to read the full conversation, lol! Glad you've got it under control.
Let me just add that the headphone amp in Balance is actually very, very loud. We put a lot of time and effort into that! What you SHOULD know though is that Balance respects the system level of Mac OS X. I personally believe that the Sound On Sound reviewer had his system level turned down as we have the same headphones he used here and it literally hurts your ears if the Balance output is above 50%.

Don't trust everything you read, try things instead.
__________________
  #9  
Old 2012-01-03, 16:47
mrkinnies mrkinnies is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattiasHG View Post
Let me just add that the headphone amp in Balance is actually very, very loud. We put a lot of time and effort into that! What you SHOULD know though is that Balance respects the system level of Mac OS X. I personally believe that the Sound On Sound reviewer had his system level turned down as we have the same headphones he used here and it literally hurts your ears if the Balance output is above 50%.

Don't trust everything you read, try things instead.
Ok thanks. As I said, the cheap phones I have been using for the past couple of weeks give great volume when the control is turned up but I've yet to try them with phones of a higher impedance.

NIce to see a quick response. Could you hurry up the department which upgrades Reason owners (like myself) to Reason 6 after Balance is registered. I appreciate it has been the holiday season but I've been waiting since Christmas Day

Last edited by mrkinnies; 2012-01-03 at 16:51.
  #10  
Old 2012-01-04, 06:03
Jazon Jazon is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 124
Word, Balance will smoke your cochleas unless you are running some super-high-impedance cans.

What????

Huh??

J.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Via Balance into Reason 6 and Reason Essentails - problems with recording atono Phead User Forum (read only) 5 2011-12-15 10:56


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:10.