Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2012-01-23, 15:56
skie skie is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 512
High Latency with Balance?

Hello,

I have a Sony Vaio running Windows 7, with a Core i7 chip, 2.24ghz, 6gb RAM, basically well above the system requirements for Record/Reason 6. My problem is I just bought Balance and experience clicks, pops, and playback interruptions on latency settings below the sample rate of 256 and above 48khz/s...this seems weird as I could operate at 96 khz/s on my old soundcard at 128 latency setting) on my old PC (core 2 2.12 ghz processsor), but now the performance seems to be sharply reduced. Any thoughts are greatly appreciated.
  #2  
Old 2012-01-23, 17:27
sphill30 sphill30 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 61
Hello Skie, I also just got Balance (For Christmas). I Also use a Sony Vaio Laptop Core2 Duo CPu @ 2.10 Ghz. I also experience Pops N Clicks.. its actually doing it right now. I don't have issues with latency though, just the clicks.. The Signal/Clip indicator is lighting up each time it clicks.. even with nothing connected to it. Just the usb power?? Let me know if you find anything else...
  #3  
Old 2012-01-23, 17:58
skie skie is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 512
Hey, been doing a bit of researching, when I get home I'm gonna try turning off my Wireless LAN adapter (heard this has worked for some) and if nothing else works, will try connecting through a USB ExpressCard slot.....let me know how it goes!
  #4  
Old 2012-01-23, 18:30
sphill30 sphill30 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 61
I tried turning off the wireless lan, but still had the same issues. When I restarted my laptop with the balance plugged in it went away. It only happens when I plug the balance in AFTER booting the pc... let me know if you get similar results. I'm thinking it may have something to do with windows recognizing from the beginning that Balance is my main Sound Card.
  #5  
Old 2012-01-23, 19:54
skie skie is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 512
Sounds good - i'll try that later - here is something else I found which might help us

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/981214
  #6  
Old 2012-01-23, 20:10
MattiasHG's Avatar
MattiasHG MattiasHG is offline
Propellerhead
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,429
Hi there, have you logged a case with our product support about this? There are a few things that could interfere so it'd be good if you did contact us so we can help pinpoint and fix any problem for you
__________________
  #7  
Old 2012-01-23, 20:18
skie skie is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 512
Have not logged a case yet, Will do so for sure if still having trouble when I get home from work Thanks!
  #8  
Old 2012-04-06, 23:33
traponicom traponicom is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
I solved this problem by using an external USB self_powered Hub (belkin) at 15 Euros and by changing the buffer disk file location in the advanced preferences of Reason.
The file location was in C/ when Reason was in D/. I put in in D/ as Reason and everything works fine. It is strange that my problem was solved doing BOTH things above. It would not change anything with just one of these actions. Who cares now, IT WORKS !!
  #9  
Old 2013-01-30, 22:43
swerapstudios swerapstudios is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
i have same issue and i think there might be a problem with IRQ someone that have solved that problem?
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Balance Install Instructions are not correct! drdk Phead User Forum (read only) 2 2011-10-28 09:50
high latency problem semajjames General Forum (read only) 8 2011-10-28 04:42
Question about purchasing balance after already receiving free reason 6 upgrade earwigisbent Phead User Forum (read only) 3 2011-10-27 08:30
Cubase Reason .wav File Export Latency Help goldenhorn Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2007-02-23 21:10


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:31.