Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-02-17, 01:53
cheddargorge26 cheddargorge26 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
computer too slow to run song {reason 6}

this is my first post
how do i fix computer too slow to run song{error}
i thought reason 6 was unlimited of how many devices you could have
why cant my computer handle it
  #2  
Old 2012-02-17, 02:05
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
Welcome. If you list some information about your computer we will try to help or at least offer advice
  #3  
Old 2012-02-17, 03:45
darkkrystal's Avatar
darkkrystal darkkrystal is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 33
Reason is unlimited on how many devices you can have but like all software the performance is limited by the specs of your computer particurly the CPU. You really need a quad core (i7 or AMD A8 or above) to be able run really intensive tracks with lots of automation, effects. You could try to transfer all matrix patterns to a note track and use the inserts on the mixer rather than loading up multiple effects, also try try disabling the routing behind the rack, minimize all devices, transfer all drum patterns to notes, set the settings on windows to optimize performance against graphics failing that you need a quicker CPU and 8GB of ram would not hurt either.
  #4  
Old 2012-02-17, 04:41
ryanmals's Avatar
ryanmals ryanmals is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheddargorge26 View Post
this is my first post
how do i fix computer too slow to run song{error}
i thought reason 6 was unlimited of how many devices you could have
why cant my computer handle it
Not sure of your computer situation, but I was getting that error ALL the time on a 2008 MacBook with 1 GB of RAM, running 6.0.1. At the same time I installed 6.0.2 (in which I believe Props solved some of the "overload" issues) I upgraded to 4 GB RAM and cleaned out some more hard drive space. Now it works like a charm (well, better at least...)
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…


~*Ryan Mals*~

  #5  
Old 2012-02-17, 22:37
KevWestBeats's Avatar
KevWestBeats KevWestBeats is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 5,646
Reason 6 is unlimited but your computer is however. Its normal all computers have limits. Running Reason on anything less than a dual core system may give you problems.
  #6  
Old 2012-02-17, 22:45
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
Also props list the minimum requirements to run Reason so don't expect to be able to do lots of tracks with effects etc if you are barely above those!
  #7  
Old 2012-02-17, 23:17
KevWestBeats's Avatar
KevWestBeats KevWestBeats is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 5,646
The minimum requirements are quite low and props aren't very forth coming with additional information about it either. A year ago I bought a pc that I thought was spec'd right for Reason/Record and while I could run it and it ran ok for light work whenever I tried to get heavy duty I had problems. When I emailed support about it they said my clock speed was too slow when I asked what clock speed should I look at they said they couldn't tell me. smh
  #8  
Old 2012-02-17, 23:23
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
Oh, remember mobile processors are optimised for low power not performance.
  #9  
Old 2012-02-17, 23:36
Mate Mate is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8,326
cheddargorge26, if you still want to try a play that song, set the CPU Limit to the None in the prefs, but it could hang up your PC!
  #10  
Old 2012-02-18, 00:35
KevWestBeats's Avatar
KevWestBeats KevWestBeats is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 5,646
Quote:
Originally Posted by n0ahg View Post
Oh, remember mobile processors are optimised for low power not performance.
can't that be changed with a simple setting in the power options though?
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Popular Plugins as Combinator Patches NoelGMusic Phead User Forum (read only) 216 2013-09-25 02:12
Computer too slow to play song dannyyoung Phead User Forum (read only) 2 2009-02-24 12:04
Reason 3.0, ProTools 6.7 on a PC with Alesis Keyboard jiagap Phead User Forum (read only) 1 2005-08-19 22:08


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:01.