Propellerhead Software
Old 2012-03-26, 17:55

Second MIDI controller?

(I may have posted this in the wrong forum, as I am very new to Reason. Thanks for reading)

Hi all!

I am purchasing my first Macbook Pro and Reason 6 this week, and I had a question. My current set up for playing involves a 61-key KORG Triton on top for pads, and an 88-key Yamaha S90 on bottom for piano, strings and organ. I plan to purchase two MIDI controllers, an Axiom 61-key PRO for my top and an M-Audio 88-weighted for the bottom.

My question: would I be able to still use the top keyboard for pads and ambiance while simultaneously using the bottom board for piano sounds both running out of Reason 6 (i.e., left hand holding the top board for pads, and the right hand playing the bottom board for piano/strings/organ sounds)? If possible, could someone describe how the technical hardware would need to be set up? I'll be happy to answer any questions about the gear I will be purchasing if it may help find an answer.

Thanks a lot!
Old 2012-03-26, 18:08

Yes, with one caveat (see below).

Reason supports multiple controllers.

You can setup one controller as a master keyboard, and it will 'follow' as you select different tracks (which have devices attached to them) - this means the master will always be playing the select track.

You can setup controller(s) to not be master keyboard, in which case you 'lock' them to a particular track (device).

So if you setup two tracks and lock your two controllers to these tracks, you will have what you are looking for.

Caveat: This is not a Reason thing, it's a potential controller 'issue'... some controllers are fussy about which USB port they are plugged into. If both controllers want the same USB port, you might have to fiddle around to get them working -- not sure if they work through a hub.

I have the axiom pro 61 and it only works in one of my four USB ports, that's why I mention it.