Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > Feature Suggestion Forum

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-04-24, 17:26
Puzzlefactory's Avatar
Puzzlefactory Puzzlefactory is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,386
Change Kongs parametric EQ to display frequency.

I know this has probably been bought up before but it baffles me that the "Frequency" dial goes from 0-127. What on earth does that mean in terms of frequency? Other filters and EQs in Reason display the frequency in Hz why not the Kong EQ? At the moment I'm basically just guessing where the frequency is.

I'm sure this must be a fairly simple thing to change, so please do.

Last edited by Puzzlefactory; 2012-04-25 at 09:57.
  #2  
Old 2012-04-24, 21:41
philipw7's Avatar
philipw7 philipw7 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 112
+1. Beats me as well..
  #3  
Old 2012-04-25, 01:13
nlduhon's Avatar
nlduhon nlduhon is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 709
Since it does not work that way, use your ears... To remove an annoying frequency from a sound, try boosting to the max, make the Q sharp, then sweep the freq range, when you find that annoying resonant freq, duck it.

Good luck.
  #4  
Old 2012-04-25, 12:53
Puzzlefactory's Avatar
Puzzlefactory Puzzlefactory is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by nlduhon View Post
Since it does not work that way, use your ears... To remove an annoying frequency from a sound, try boosting to the max, make the Q sharp, then sweep the freq range, when you find that annoying resonant freq, duck it.

Good luck.
Yeah this is what i've been doing and it's been reminding me of when i was using analogue desks back in university. But Reason isn't an analogue desk and could very easily display the frequencies (as it does with other EQs and filters), so would like props to change it.
  #5  
Old 2012-04-25, 18:47
selig's Avatar
selig selig is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,510
Even if they put the frequency names on the knobs, that doesn't mean that you can use that information to more accurately set other EQs. Looking at spectrum graphs of the existing EQs shows that the numbers only go so far. So in a way, using your ears is still best because if you just take the numbers as gospel, you'll likely not be where it sounds best IMO (and at the least, you may not be where you think you are).

Here's a comparison of the filters/eqs that DO have 'proper' numbers on them, showing the variations above and below what's listed on the knob:


This shows the Pulveriser and Thor's State Variable filter (set to band pass) both reading around 13-14 kHz when set to 9.77 and 9.56 kHz respectively, and the SSL and MClass EQ both reading slightly below 10 kHz when set to 10.2 and 10.1 kHz respectively. So I guess this means to not always trust the numbers, but DO trust your ears!

That being said, I can't imagine why they didn't use frequency numbers. :-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
  #6  
Old 2012-04-26, 00:08
Puzzlefactory's Avatar
Puzzlefactory Puzzlefactory is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,386
That's informative and disheartening at the same time. It makes me think how accurate other EQs and filters from other developers and DAWs are?
  #7  
Old 2012-04-26, 06:08
selig's Avatar
selig selig is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puzzlefactory View Post
That's informative and disheartening at the same time. It makes me think how accurate other EQs and filters from other developers and DAWs are?
And at the other end of the spectrum, it makes me realize just how accurate all digital filters/eqs actually are compared to their analog counterpoints, who's frequency knobs never lined up and where two channels in a console often sounded slightly different when compared to each other.

For every technological advance, the good comes with some bad and vice versa. ;-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
  #8  
Old 2012-04-25, 09:07
LastAlternative's Avatar
LastAlternative LastAlternative is online now
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,048
I agree. It really leaves you hanging. I use my ears but it's nice to know what frequency you're on so you can do an opposite cut/boost the same frequency on another instrument to make room in that area. Not sure what they were thinking.
__________________
"Life is a movie, you're a star."
"Don't waste your talents."
"Give music life!"

https://soundcloud.com/last-alternative
https://lastalternative.bandcamp.com/
  #9  
Old 2013-06-22, 13:20
Puzzlefactory's Avatar
Puzzlefactory Puzzlefactory is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puzzlefactory View Post
I know this has probably been bought up before but it baffles me that the "Frequency" dial goes from 0-127. What on earth does that mean in terms of frequency? Other filters and EQs in Reason display the frequency in Hz why not the Kong EQ? At the moment I'm basically just guessing where the frequency is.

I'm sure this must be a fairly simple thing to change, so please do.
I still think this is a good idea too...
  #10  
Old 2013-06-22, 16:53
selig's Avatar
selig selig is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puzzlefactory View Post
I still think this is a good idea too...
+1 - this is a great I idea and I have no idea why this was done this way in the first place!

While I still 100% agree with you, the new Spectrum Analyzer really helps with this sort of thing IMO. I don't tend to need to dial up a specific frequency unless I'm doing advanced sound design - and to do that I need a spectrum analyzer to find the frequency I'm going to try to match. In those cases, you can clearly see what frequency you're boosting even if there were no numbers at all on the frequency knob. And like I previously posted, even dialing up a specific frequency doesn't always give specific results, so having a visual conformation is great!

So while I see no reason why they would have left off the frequency display, I also have not had it be a problem - especially now that there's a spectrum analyzer in Reason. And I mention these things because the more time that goes by, the more likely this won't change - so it's good to know some workarounds! :-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change inst. that a track is playing? CHAZM Phead User Forum (read only) 3 2012-03-26 00:22
Kong's parametric EQ question xqtion Phead User Forum (read only) 13 2011-01-04 07:17
Patch change message from MIDI controller. zoldar256 General Forum (read only) 0 2003-08-07 21:07


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:30.