Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2012-05-31, 19:11
stashcraft
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Involved MIDI question for Reason 6

Hello all, I'm a composer who is looking for a good package of synths and Reason seems like a good solution, so I downloaded the demo but I've run across a problem that might make me consider a different route if we can't figure it out.

Here's my setup: I run a Macbook Pro, OSX 10.7.4. I work with microtonal music, where I run MIDI from Sibelius 7 using IAC busses to a microtonal MIDI program called Microsynth (it was recently developed and can be downloaded from the Mac App Store). What it does is remap MIDI notes to a certain microtonal scale and outputs MIDI notes with pitch bends. The catch is that it has to use an entire MIDI device (that's right, all 16 channels of, say, IAC driver bus 1) for each MIDI "track" (i.e. one staff of music in a music notation software, like Sibelius). This is a common work-around for anyone who works with MIDI and microtonal scales that might have upwards of 205 or so notes per octave(!).

Long story short, in Reason, I need all 16 channels of a particular MIDI device to go to one synth. I can't use the "advanced MIDI" for this because it automatically forces MIDI channels to route to individual synths (which is a pretty inconvenient feature in my opinion). So, the only option that I can see is to set up the IAC busses as "control surfaces" and use them to control one synth at a time by locking them to the synths I want to control.

Whew! Alright, here's my problem: it would appear that Reason doesn't handle the MIDI pitch bends as it should when dealing with polyphony. So, for example, let's say I send a C major triad that has the 3rd slightly flat from 12-tone equal temperament (approximately a just-intonation triad). What happens is I make a normal C chord in Sibelius; this gets routed to Microsynth; Microsynth then detunes the chord according to the scale it is set to; then each of the notes get sent on their own MIDI channels down the same device (IAC Bus 1 for example) with the 3rd pitch bent slightly flat according to the scale set in Microsynth; these three pitches arrive in Reason and are routed to the synth that I have locked the IAC Bus 1 to; the synth should play back each of the unique MIDI channels with their own pitch bend information and the result should be a triad with a slightly flat 3rd. But, what my ears hear is that the pitch bend either affects the entire triad or is ignored, which tells me that the synth couldn't handle the individual pitch bend information for each channel.

My experience is that synths generally handle MIDI channels uniquely, that is, if a pitch bend occurs on one MIDI channel, it doesn't bend the notes on the others out of tune. My question is, is there any possible way to get the synths in Reason to behave like this? I know this is a tricky one and any thoughts are greatly appreciated!
  #2  
Old 2012-06-01, 01:28
RXTX's Avatar
RXTX RXTX is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 562
The pitch bend parameter is global to each instrument (i.e. it applies to all sound coming out of it), so you can't use it to manipulate individual notes.

I guess you could make 16 copies of the same instrument, and then route each MIDI channel to its own copy.
  #3  
Old 2012-06-02, 18:45
stashcraft
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hmm, at first I was a little daunted by this idea but discovering the usefulness of the combinator makes this more manageable. Thanks RXTX!
  #4  
Old 2012-06-09, 17:41
Airpom's Avatar
Airpom Airpom is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 328
I wonder if there will any micro tonal options in the future with the rack extensions? I really hope so..maybe a scala type re? http://www.huygens-fokker.org/scala/
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about MIDI wkeever Phead User Forum (read only) 9 2011-09-27 17:41
LIVE Routing Question - Two MIDI tracks to one instrument? StormCanada Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2011-08-04 06:04
Syncing FruityLoops 3.5.6 with Reason 2.5 using MIDI Yoke NT Muzak Phead User Forum (read only) 10 2008-10-18 10:31
PCR-50 and MIDI mapping question josb General Forum (read only) 4 2006-05-06 19:45
I need Help! Tough MIDI channel question... millionVALVE General Forum (read only) 6 2003-11-26 15:21


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:43.