Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2012-06-05, 20:33
kilon kilon is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17
Alchemy RE support thread

Hey there, I have been considering buying Reason for years now. The two things holding me back was lack of audio recording and that I would not be able to use my only software synth (I am a hardware synth guy) Alchemy.

So when I learned about Rack Extensions I was jumping up and down from joy. Sure I have been always aware of Rewire, but I was no big fan of braking my workflow or paying for 2 different daws.

Now that audio recording is finally possible for Reason I am so close to making that purchase because I love reason since version 2.5 that I first used it.

So I am opening this thread , after opening this thread -> http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewto...945890#4945890 in Alchemy forums and been told that is up to P to lift restriction that make it impossible currently for Alchemy developers to bring this amazing synth (easily the most powerful software synthesizer out there) to Reason.

Bare in mind I know Rack Extensions is a extremely new features not even yet released , and that there is still work to be done till its considered mature or enough to please most VST/AU developers out there . I am not an impatient guy , but I am too excited about this to not just create this thread as a place of many Alchemy fans to voice their interest.

I am sure this marriage between Reason and Alchemy will greatly benefit both sides. As always use this thread to voice your ideas, advice, concerns and opinions.

Last edited by kilon; 2012-06-05 at 20:36. Reason: Improve it
  #2  
Old 2012-06-05, 20:41
emotica's Avatar
emotica emotica is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,480
+1

Probably the synth I like to see in Reason the most. Hopefully, it will be possible at some point.
__________________
IchMensch on SoundCloud | Melopsyched
Studio One | Reason Essentials | Polar | Parsec | Antidote | Uhbik Studio Effects | ReelBus | Barricade | Variety of Sound

  #3  
Old 2012-06-05, 20:57
papercrane's Avatar
papercrane papercrane is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 418
I've demoed Alchemy extensively, and use it a lot in college. I would also love to see this as a rack extension. a couple of developers have dropped hints regarding the finicky nature of the GUI restrictions, but the rack extension format is still in it's early days, so over time I expect that propellerheads will concentrate on improving the rack extension format.
  #4  
Old 2012-06-05, 21:19
eXode's Avatar
eXode eXode is online now
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,489
Alchemy gets my support all the way! +1 for making it happen in Reason!
  #5  
Old 2012-06-05, 22:02
zeebot's Avatar
zeebot zeebot is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,145
Yeah, the camel guys have issues with the RE format at the moment and alchemy doesn't look like happening until the DEV evolves a bit...I do have it on good authority that the guys will be bringing one of their other plugins to the table maybe phat or space.
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
  #6  
Old 2012-06-05, 22:21
emotica's Avatar
emotica emotica is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,480
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeebot View Post
...until the DEV evolves a bit...
DEV? You mean SDK?
__________________
IchMensch on SoundCloud | Melopsyched
Studio One | Reason Essentials | Polar | Parsec | Antidote | Uhbik Studio Effects | ReelBus | Barricade | Variety of Sound

  #7  
Old 2012-06-06, 09:37
Aiden's Avatar
Aiden Aiden is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 159
Of all the soft synths out there Alchemy would be the one I'd most like to see as a R.E.

Aiden
  #8  
Old 2012-06-06, 10:52
MAV42's Avatar
MAV42 MAV42 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 245
It would be superb to see the Camel Audio guys onboard for RE, its deffinately one of the best. ;-P I think there's been a few developers that have complained a bit about the actual rack size and various restrictions etc etc.. However i would say to any of these plug in developers, your all clever guys "Make It Work" You have a massive community of Reason users and lets face it if you had something like Alchemy available on the rack its a huge sales potential untapped there for the taking!! LOL
Burn a bit of midnight oil and make it so...

Last edited by MAV42; 2012-06-06 at 11:30.
  #9  
Old 2012-06-06, 23:19
IndiQa's Avatar
IndiQa IndiQa is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 41
Lightbulb Uhhhhh....ReWire???!!!

I use Alchemy and Reason all the time.

Since I use X1 I just ReWire Reason in and Use any and ALL VSTs I want.

Using Reason alone all by itself is WAY too restrictive. Even when the
REs become available.

Reason is good but it is not a be all / end all for serious music.
  #10  
Old 2012-06-06, 23:33
mrbritt's Avatar
mrbritt mrbritt is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 456
Smile

I would love to see Alchemy in Reason, but removing the restrictions is the reason, they had not done VST's in the first place. So the programmers of third party VST's are going to have to learn to work around the resrtictions and become fleible at learning PH coding. If not; they will miss the largest format change in a while.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Bumper Thread..... kb420 Phead User Forum (read only) 244 2013-11-16 01:13
Reason keeps crashing after closing and opening another file RJPILA General Forum (read only) 1 2012-05-03 18:02
SD 2 file support??? lukedg General Forum (read only) 0 2002-10-04 21:08


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:29.