Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > Feature Suggestion Forum

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-06-17, 02:07
locohead's Avatar
locohead locohead is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 233
Trigger OctoRex slots a little like in "Live"

I would like to see a way to trigger the loop slots via keyboard or controller, e.g. press a certain key to trigger slot 1 and immediately it starts playing slot 1. Press a different key (or pad or button on your controller) and slot 2 is triggered and OctoRex starts playing slot 2 back until anything else is triggered and so on.

Thus one could mimic a little bit of the feel and handling of "Ableton Live"-session view: Every OctoRex represents one track with up to 8 scenes. Use one OctoRex for each track necessary. This would be a lot of fun!

I built a workaround, but is not as simple as it could be if things were like mentioned above: 1. Create a Kong
2. Create a Combinator
3. Create an OctoRex inside the Combinator
4. Connect Kong's CV-Gate Outs of Pad 1-4 to the CV Ins 1-4 on the Combinator
5. Go to the Combinator's programmer and set the mapping like for the OctoRex: CV1 In > Slot > 1 to 1 (2 to 2 for second CV In, 3 to 3 for third and so on).
6. Press "Run" on OctoRex
7. Set "Trig Next Loop" on OctoRex from "Bar" to "1/16"
8. Play Kong's pads 1-4 as you wish to retrigger the loops as you like

Can this be done easier for using a controller/keyboard to trigger the slots?
  #2  
Old 2012-06-17, 02:33
martinb98's Avatar
martinb98 martinb98 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 648
If i understand, not an Ableton user, reason dose this already
On Dr OR right click on slot 1 edit Remote override mapping A little window appears then hit a key , button , pad
& press ok do the same for every other slot & away you go , you can also choose how quick the slot changes on the left
Trig Next Loop , bar , beat , 16th, Hit record !
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…


Martin
http://soundcloud.com/itchy-brother-music
Melbourne Australia
  #3  
Old 2012-06-17, 03:42
dub08's Avatar
dub08 dub08 is online now
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4,833
2 people above me didnt read the manual.
No offense j/p ...but dont do it that way!

Triggering by the keyboard is already built into dr Octo.

Just remember loop slot 1 will be an Enote not C...it's in the manual.
__________________
www.008refills.com 15 FREE Reason ReFills in the -008' Newsletter
  #4  
Old 2012-06-17, 04:11
martinb98's Avatar
martinb98 martinb98 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 648
C'mon dub08 who in there right mind reads manuals LoL
Thanks mate , just tried that , nice tip
But if he wants to trigger via a pad or button he needs to do edit remote override mapping , Yes ?
Anymore tips i can suck out of your brain ! LoL
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…


Martin
http://soundcloud.com/itchy-brother-music
Melbourne Australia
  #5  
Old 2012-06-17, 04:47
dub08's Avatar
dub08 dub08 is online now
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4,833
Quote:
Originally Posted by martinb98 View Post
C'mon dub08 who in there right mind reads manuals LoL
Thanks mate , just tried that , nice tip
But if he wants to trigger via a pad or button he needs to do edit remote override mapping , Yes ?
Anymore tips i can suck out of your brain ! LoL
Haha sure ask away

Well...if its pads like mpc or midi pads w/e they're still midi "notes" so they are ready to go!
but need to be the right octave/notes.

Essientially, if you want anything different than default, then yes you can override!
__________________
www.008refills.com 15 FREE Reason ReFills in the -008' Newsletter
  #6  
Old 2012-06-17, 16:39
locohead's Avatar
locohead locohead is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by dub08 View Post
Triggering by the keyboard is already built into dr Octo.
Thanks for the tip!
  #7  
Old 2012-06-23, 15:42
locohead's Avatar
locohead locohead is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 233
Alright, I can trigger the slots spontaneously as I like now. One more thing I would love to see is a separate "Gate Out" for each slot to use the trigger-feature in OctoRex to allow me to trigger other elements, too. E.g. one could use a ReDrum sequence on slot one and something else on slot two.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Routing loop slots to different effects - Octorex outtareach General Forum (read only) 1 2011-10-14 20:58
Multiple OctoRex simultaneous midi trigger question jfrichards Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2010-12-06 19:59
How to control the OctoRex Slot's with my padControl friday General Forum (read only) 1 2010-09-03 09:28
Redrum, CV, External Trigger - weirdness paulcon General Forum (read only) 1 2005-12-30 05:16
Trigger Finger and CCs shirkahn Phead User Forum (read only) 10 2005-11-01 11:45


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:20.