Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2012-06-17, 17:12
Filterswept's Avatar
Filterswept Filterswept is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
Sequencer - Note Length Quantization

Hi,

I've been wishing there was a way to do this in Reason's sequencer for awhile. Maybe there is and I just don't know it. If so, please fill me in! I produce a lot of electronic music and when I'm recording, I would love the capability to snap all of the note lengths to their closest rhythmic length. It's really annoying when I'm recording 4 measures of 4 note pad chords, each a quarter note in length, to have to go back and manually drag or enter in the note lengths to get them to be perfectly 1/4 note in length. I don't think it would be that hard to implement, it's the same concept as position quantization, just with note length.

Cheers,

Josh
  #2  
Old 2012-06-17, 17:34
dub08's Avatar
dub08 dub08 is online now
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4,829
Use the "inspector" on the top of the sequencer

The "=" = "=".


(the equal equals equal! : notes, lengths, velocity etc)
__________________
www.008refills.com 15 FREE Reason ReFills in the -008' Newsletter
  #3  
Old 2012-06-17, 18:11
selig's Avatar
selig selig is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,508
A "Quantize note durations" feature would be quite handy, and different from using the inspector, since you don't always want the total note length to be the same. It's basically just a Quantize command for the note "OFF" rather than the note "ON", and can be used separately from quantizing note "ONs".

I use this feature in Pro Tools quite often, and find it useful IMO. :-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
  #4  
Old 2012-06-18, 10:22
KingEternal's Avatar
KingEternal KingEternal is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by selig View Post
A "Quantize note durations" feature would be quite handy, and different from using the inspector, since you don't always want the total note length to be the same. It's basically just a Quantize command for the note "OFF" rather than the note "ON", and can be used separately from quantizing note "ONs".

I use this feature in Pro Tools quite often, and find it useful IMO. :-)
I defeinitely need this! A quantize feature for note durations would be so useful! I remember when starting to use the software I instintively searched for this...
  #5  
Old 2013-07-12, 17:51
rogerlevy rogerlevy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,899
I need this.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Midi Keyboard + Reason = Quantizing notes is lowering volume and note length HELP mista808 General Forum (read only) 0 2012-01-04 00:00
Sequnceing your drums from nnxt with the redrum menacesta Phead User Forum (read only) 10 2009-10-31 17:57
note display in sequencer miketodd General Forum (read only) 0 2007-03-27 22:16
extending length of phrases in the sequencer youtwo General Forum (read only) 5 2004-06-10 18:56
Note length SmivvyBPMZ General Forum (read only) 2 2003-01-13 06:07


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:29.