Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-06-29, 03:57
Lokeyfly's Avatar
Lokeyfly Lokeyfly is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 159
Question 6.5 opens in 6? Appears not!

Has anyone noticed, or can confirm this finding?

While installing new software on my computer I had to re install Reason from the 6.5 back to 6.0 (then simply re install to 6.5). In doing so while I had only Reason 6.0 installed, I discovered I could not open songs that were developed in version 6.5. Has anyone else experienced this? Perhaps sent a 6.5 file to someone's 6.0 Reason.

I believe it could be important to some because with all of the talk of compatability of using Reason on another computer, even cross platform, while that is good, don't think you can go to a fellow musician who has Reason 6.0 and open a song developed in 6.5. At least that is what I'm seeing.

I can understand this due to the nature of the RE developement, but I think it's worth pointing out this is the case.

Any confirmation or similar stories from others? What's your take on this?

Many may not care. Some may very well care! It's not an uncommon thing on a full version upgrade (say 6 to 7), but a bit unusual for a .5 revision. Anyhow, just passing this along.

Last edited by Lokeyfly; 2012-06-29 at 10:45. Reason: To avoidquestions of title
  #2  
Old 2012-07-04, 10:46
mac0123's Avatar
mac0123 mac0123 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,308
Thumbs down

Well I am going to open another thread along these lines. Why for this purpose Its not just the fact of backwards compatabillity and the fact I have seen nothing on this and need to know if its isolated just to me but try this open a previous version to 6.5 track made in reason close without saving and try openeing in 6.02. !! for me bad format it wont open tracks that have only been opened in 6.5 not even saved or created in it !!. please test this and post in new thread i make. thank you.
  #3  
Old 2012-07-04, 10:54
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac0123 View Post
Well I am going to open another thread along these lines. Why for this purpose Its not just the fact of backwards compatabillity and the fact I have seen nothing on this and need to know if its isolated just to me but try this open a previous version to 6.5 track made in reason close without saving and try openeing in 6.02. !! for me bad format it wont open tracks that have only been opened in 6.5 not even saved or created in it !!. please test this and post in new thread i make. thank you.
Reason is and always has been backwards compatible. You are mixing up forwards compatible! Props already use iff based files.

Last edited by n0ahg; 2012-07-04 at 11:14.
  #4  
Old 2012-07-04, 11:10
mac0123's Avatar
mac0123 mac0123 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by n0ahg View Post
Reason is ans always has been backwards compatible. You are mixing up forwards compatible! Props already use iff based files.
Sorry I dont understand your post.
It makes no sense to me how you worte that sorry .
And if I am reading it as I think it is trying to be said,
Then there should be no issue opening a song from a previous version then closing it,
without any saving it should not change a thing !!.
Never has in any version ever.
just opening and closing a song should not change the format to where it will no longer open in the previous version with no changes made to it in any way nothing touched other than pressing play.
The point is just opening a song should not render it unusable in the version it was created in.
  #5  
Old 2012-07-04, 13:50
ajmagard ajmagard is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 14
"Backwards compatible" means that you can open items created in an earlier version of a product in its newer versions.
Not the other way around
  #6  
Old 2013-03-13, 16:01
spikeman spikeman is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Yes, I have just discovered this. I programmed a demo for my students on my 6.5 at home (it took me all day) and just brought it into school where we run 6.0.2 on 23 machines. Bingo, the file is not compatable. I am extremely frustrated and very very annoyed annoyed.
  #7  
Old 2012-06-29, 10:42
Lokeyfly's Avatar
Lokeyfly Lokeyfly is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 159
I get your point, so more to the point is "opens in".
I think making 6.5, version 7 would seriously P'd some people off.

It could be a snag for someone expecting to open 6.5 with a version of 6. If that's the case, as you say, better save in 6, the work you want to share in 6.
  #8  
Old 2012-06-29, 10:46
EpiGenetik's Avatar
EpiGenetik EpiGenetik is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,606
Smile

No one who has a lot of experience with software should expect to be able to open new files in an older version. Sorry if this sounds harsh, but it really is the case with just about every major software upgrade on Earth!
__________________
"I decided to call my music 'organized sound' and myself, not a musician but 'a worker in rhythms, frequencies, and intensities'”
Edgard Varèse 1962
  #9  
Old 2012-06-29, 15:19
dreampolice's Avatar
dreampolice dreampolice is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,045
Reason 6.0 cant open files created in Reason 6.0.2

This is pretty standard stuff, and kind of needed. And they upgrade is free, so whats the problem?
__________________
http://drunkpedestrians.com/
  #10  
Old 2012-06-29, 15:59
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreampolice View Post
Reason 6.0 cant open files created in Reason 6.0.2

This is pretty standard stuff, and kind of needed. And they upgrade is free, so whats the problem?
I hope that is a typo. Reason 6.0.0 can open files from 6.0.2 and this is expected as long as the bug fixes didn't affect the saved file. Reason 6.0.x can't open files from Reason 6.5.x and this is expected as it isn't a bug fix release but a upgrade.

Last edited by n0ahg; 2012-06-29 at 16:34.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reason backward / forward compatibility klausrm Phead User Forum (read only) 4 2011-01-15 21:36
reson 3 refills are they compatable with reason 5+record scottspenc General Forum (read only) 3 2011-01-10 01:45
Backward Compatibility - Reason 5 to Reason 4 rmilnes General Forum (read only) 1 2010-10-21 04:01
Is Reason compatable w/ Vista SP1 bigbobbysd General Forum (read only) 2 2009-01-15 21:01
Is Reason 4.0 compatable with Intel Quad core processors?? juggaloj69 General Forum (read only) 21 2008-01-22 15:13


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:29.