Propellerhead Software
Old 2012-07-20, 16:48

Live Looping in Reason?

I am a performing artist currently using MainStage for live processing and mixing of guitar, vocal, and sax. I do a lot of live looping, and currently use the Mobius plugin for this. My looping is done with no tempo, metronome, or backing track. They are "free form" loops; the tempo of a given loop is set by when I start and close/play the loop. In other words, I do not sync my guitar playing to anything, I am free to follow my own tempo and dynamics.

I am disappointed in the stability of MainStage, and have heard Reason is very stable for live use, as it is a closed system. However, I must have the ability to do live looping. Can I accomplish what I want to do with Reason?
Old 2012-07-20, 17:03

Can you access this thread?

https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...d.php?t=164248
Old 2012-07-20, 17:33

Yes, but everything shown demonstrates the manipulation and playing of pre-recorded loops and sounds. I do not do this "DJ" or "glitch" style. I play guitar and sing, but do some looping of stuff as I play it.

Is there guitar looping capability in Reason or Reason Rack?
Old 2012-07-20, 17:51

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnbaker View Post
Yes, but everything shown demonstrates the manipulation and playing of pre-recorded loops and sounds. I do not do this "DJ" or "glitch" style. I play guitar and sing, but do some looping of stuff as I play it.

Is there guitar looping capability in Reason or Reason Rack?
In short, no. Reason really is designed for linear song writing.

You'd be much better off with something built for live use. Ableton Live is an obvious choice, and comes with a nice looper. Ableton is also a full blown DAW, and also comes with its share of stability issues. Mainstage is perfect for what you're doing, on paper, but if it's crashing then you obviously can't bring it on stage.
Old 2012-07-20, 22:59

You need Ableton Live. Reason is great, but doesn't do everything.