Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2012-07-20, 16:48
johnbaker johnbaker is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3
Live Looping in Reason?

I am a performing artist currently using MainStage for live processing and mixing of guitar, vocal, and sax. I do a lot of live looping, and currently use the Mobius plugin for this. My looping is done with no tempo, metronome, or backing track. They are "free form" loops; the tempo of a given loop is set by when I start and close/play the loop. In other words, I do not sync my guitar playing to anything, I am free to follow my own tempo and dynamics.

I am disappointed in the stability of MainStage, and have heard Reason is very stable for live use, as it is a closed system. However, I must have the ability to do live looping. Can I accomplish what I want to do with Reason?
  #2  
Old 2012-07-20, 17:03
reasoner498's Avatar
reasoner498 reasoner498 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 836
Can you access this thread?

https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...d.php?t=164248
  #3  
Old 2012-07-20, 17:33
johnbaker johnbaker is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3
Yes, but everything shown demonstrates the manipulation and playing of pre-recorded loops and sounds. I do not do this "DJ" or "glitch" style. I play guitar and sing, but do some looping of stuff as I play it.

Is there guitar looping capability in Reason or Reason Rack?
  #4  
Old 2012-07-20, 17:51
NewAtlantisAudio's Avatar
NewAtlantisAudio NewAtlantisAudio is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnbaker View Post
Yes, but everything shown demonstrates the manipulation and playing of pre-recorded loops and sounds. I do not do this "DJ" or "glitch" style. I play guitar and sing, but do some looping of stuff as I play it.

Is there guitar looping capability in Reason or Reason Rack?
In short, no. Reason really is designed for linear song writing.

You'd be much better off with something built for live use. Ableton Live is an obvious choice, and comes with a nice looper. Ableton is also a full blown DAW, and also comes with its share of stability issues. Mainstage is perfect for what you're doing, on paper, but if it's crashing then you obviously can't bring it on stage.
  #5  
Old 2012-07-20, 22:59
DanaAdalaide's Avatar
DanaAdalaide DanaAdalaide is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,264
You need Ableton Live. Reason is great, but doesn't do everything.

I use both together using rewire.
__________________
Reason Patches Community
  #6  
Old 2012-07-21, 01:57
johnbaker johnbaker is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3
OK, thanks much for your help. I have setups using Ableton Live, and MainStage. But I'm always looking for something better. Live performance was one of things promoted as a Reason application, but it does appear to be for specific, linear stuff. Look impressive, though!
  #7  
Old 2012-07-21, 20:20
mac0123's Avatar
mac0123 mac0123 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,353
Hello johnbaker,
The answer is simple yes.
'Live looping' is totally possible in Reason... All you need to make sure is that your audio signal comes in,and you know how to route cables..
Once you have your (mic/guitar signal) you can make an audio track in which to record,either mono or stereo,set your tempo,if you want to,then set a 'loop point' in the sequencer window..if you want.. Hit record on that track,then either use the 'Alt or Dub' functions in the transport window. Reason will create extra tracks while you 'loop live'. Easy.=)
Everything you 'need to know' is in the help files.
I hope this helps.
  #8  
Old 2012-07-21, 20:29
MtotheC MtotheC is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 90
I use NI Guitar Rig for live performance. Look into it. Its killer and has a looper too.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reason Live with multiple projects open EditEd4TV General Forum (read only) 11 2012-09-11 05:00
Defining Money Management kkrughns Music Forum (read only) 0 2012-03-30 21:03
Reason To Live DanaAdalaide Phead User Forum (read only) 6 2011-04-15 00:14
?'s about exporting tracks out of RSN and into another app. DSUB Phead User Forum (read only) 8 2011-02-21 03:42
Reason = profesional tool... yes and now (very long ) miziq General Forum (read only) 10 2002-12-19 07:57


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:59.