Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-07-26, 21:34
dtb200
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Does iPad supply enough power to use Balance?

Hi - has anyone tried using Balance with an iPad? Not sure if enough power will be supplied?

Thanks
  #2  
Old 2012-07-26, 21:56
hhsoullover's Avatar
hhsoullover hhsoullover is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 39
I haven't got Balance, but I'm using the iPad with an uca222 from behringer. And even with this relatively small interface i need an usb-hub on the camera connection kit. But using the hub, i can plug in an akai mpk49 too, so that i've got an audio-card and a keyboard connected to the iPad.
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…

Reason7; ARK; Soul School; Cubase4; iMac 12 GB Ram; Focusrite Scarlett 8i6
AKAI MPK 49, Arturia Analog Laboratory 49, Casio CZ-5000, midified iPad4, Behringer Ultra-Voice Digital, SM58
RE: PolySix, ReTron, Predator, Antidote, and lotsa Tools
-----------
"And in the end, the love you take is equal to the love you make" (Lennon-McCartney)
  #3  
Old 2012-07-26, 22:21
drdk drdk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 278
Hi,

I plug my ipad straight in to balance and record it into reason - no problems.

DK
  #4  
Old 2012-07-26, 22:31
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
I take it you want to use the ipad as a usb host?
  #5  
Old 2012-07-27, 06:29
Dogboy1973's Avatar
Dogboy1973 Dogboy1973 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by n0ahg View Post
I take it you want to use the ipad as a usb host?
I took it he/she wanted to use Balance as an interface for iPad. Is that right OP? Anyway, I don't think it would work unless Balance can be powered from mains supply (can it or is I bus powered only?!). Many interfaces do work with iPad. I think the first and foremost requirements are that they can be mains powered and work without the need for drivers to be installed.
__________________
  #6  
Old 2012-07-27, 11:18
dtb200
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks everyone

Thank you all for your helpful replies. I suspect you are correct that a powered hub would be necessary (although not ALL interfaces work even using a hub). . I currently work solely on the iPad and need a MIDI & audio interface and like Propellerhead ethos & products so thought I would try the Balance. Will take iPad to a shop and ask to try it with a Balance. Thanks again.

Ps the olympics just started here :-) suspect opening ceremony will include some interesting music... #dannyboyle #london2012
  #7  
Old 2012-07-27, 13:06
Dogboy1973's Avatar
Dogboy1973 Dogboy1973 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtb200 View Post
I currently work solely on the iPad and need a MIDI & audio interface and like Propellerhead ethos & products so thought I would try the Balance. Will take iPad to a shop and ask to try it with a Balance. Thanks again.
Balance is bus powered so there's no way it's going to work with the iPad unfortunately. check out the Alesis IO Dock for a dedicated iPad interface/dock. The Tascam iU2 looks decent as well, although it has had mixed feedback from users.

On my PC I have a bookmark to a site talking about computer interfaces that work with the iPad .... but my computer is currently on a container ship probably rounding Africa about now. If I can find the site I'll post up a link. It's very interesting & useful for iPad users looking for an interface.
__________________
  #8  
Old 2013-01-27, 09:15
Appalachik's Avatar
Appalachik Appalachik is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
I'm also looking for an answer to this question. If not, I guess a powered USB hub would be needed... Screwing up the portability advantage.
  #9  
Old 2013-01-27, 10:31
Dogboy1973's Avatar
Dogboy1973 Dogboy1973 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by Appalachik View Post
I'm also looking for an answer to this question. If not, I guess a powered USB hub would be needed... Screwing up the portability advantage.
This announcement from Apogge at NAMM looks interesting for iOS musicians;
http://www.engadget.com/2013/01/24/a...io-interfaces/

Terrible audio quality on this vid but here it is at NAMM;

__________________
  #10  
Old 2013-01-27, 21:06
slipamickey slipamickey is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 46
[QUOTE=Dogboy1973;1227249]This announcement from Apogge at NAMM looks interesting for iOS musicians;
http://www.engadget.com/2013/01/24/a...io-interfaces/

And check this one out; http://www.iconnectivity.com/iConnectMIDI4plus

Crazy good specs, and a decent price.

http://discchord.com/blog/2013/1/23/...nectmidi4.html
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Balance & iMac - Power Up Issue FailedMuso Phead User Forum (read only) 9 2012-06-13 19:11
Balance no power ? helver Phead User Forum (read only) 5 2012-02-13 20:48
UPS (Uninterruptable Power Supply)? 2cool4jewels Phead User Forum (read only) 7 2010-11-26 22:32
OT: Computer power supply went bad? Not sure... EnochLight Phead User Forum (read only) 10 2007-02-08 09:05
Help Me Identify Power Supply for UC16 DIGITUS General Forum (read only) 9 2004-06-02 08:42


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:30.