Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > Feature Suggestion Forum

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-08-14, 01:26
rogerlevy rogerlevy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,899
Petition to stop locking us out of our software

I understand the license agreement. I know that I have a license to run one copy at a time. What I'd like to suggest to Props is to tweak their enforcement of it. Stop locking me out because I forget to quit Reason on my other computer. It's insulting. I'm not a pirate. Just prevent me from starting a second copy. Anything but this treatment.

All who agree...
  #2  
Old 2012-08-14, 01:34
tiftof's Avatar
tiftof tiftof is online now
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,653
Totally agree. I have getting the email warning. Using two computers is pretty damn common.
  #3  
Old 2012-08-14, 02:46
KenPH KenPH is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 460
I forgot once before, felt embarrassed when I got the note.

How about if you are still logged in on the other computer, Propellerhead telling you that you are logged in and then letting you proceed to Demo Mode?
  #4  
Old 2012-08-14, 06:10
jaeppel's Avatar
jaeppel jaeppel is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 943
so by buying a copy we essentially give up the right to a demo? not having this problem, ive got one key and one system, but yeah, id be ticked too i that situation, i guess.
__________________
MS20 mini, XStation, Monotribe, MalletKAT,
Reason, Recycle, Reaper, Tassman, Chromaphone,
Radical Piano, ReTron, Antidote, Polar, PolySix, Buffre.
  #5  
Old 2012-08-14, 11:12
JiggeryPokery's Avatar
JiggeryPokery JiggeryPokery is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 5,081
This is a non-issue. If you have Reason on more than one machine, only use one machine at a time. It's not brain surgery, and Props are not mind-readers who can tell if the second machine is yours or someone who's nicked it. Take some responsibility.

And anything involving email notifications is impossible because of all the users who still moan that their computers don't have internet access because they had a virus in 1998. What are PH meant to do here? Start a carrier pigeon breeding program?

No, the actual thing that is a problem is the authorization server constantly freezing up, preventing one from doing anything on any machine!
__________________
www.jiggery-pokery.com
Vintage Keyboard & Guitar ReFills for Reason
  #6  
Old 2012-08-14, 15:17
rogerlevy rogerlevy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by JiggeryPokery View Post
This is a non-issue. If you have Reason on more than one machine, only use one machine at a time. It's not brain surgery, and Props are not mind-readers who can tell if the second machine is yours or someone who's nicked it. Take some responsibility.

And anything involving email notifications is impossible because of all the users who still moan that their computers don't have internet access because they had a virus in 1998. What are PH meant to do here? Start a carrier pigeon breeding program?

No, the actual thing that is a problem is the authorization server constantly freezing up, preventing one from doing anything on any machine!
But you know that it doesn't matter if the other machine is mine or not, the license clearly states use it on one at a time. I don't understand this attitude that if I violate the license that I should be *LOCKED OUT* of something that I purchased. I'm not a serf.

And they don't need to assume that because Reason is running in two places that the laptop was probably stolen. What's so insecure about a window popping up going "error, error, Reason is already running with this license" and politely close? And if the ignition key is in, automatically close the one that doesn't (giving me a chance to save my work)? Why is that not better than LOCKING ME OUT?!

What it boils down to is I've plunked down nearly $500 to use the software, and Props should be treating me like a customer, not a pirate. Propellerhead would not exist without me. It's inappropriate, to say the least, for them to be locking me out of it in any shape or form. It's not my "job", or "responsibility", to avoid what they decided should be like some sort of punishment for making the simple mistake of forgetting to shut down Reason. How do you reach that I ought to be "responsible" for the actions of a software house? That's like saying, "Don't like being strip-searched at the airport? Then don't look suspicious!"

As for the offline issue Jiggery, that's more of a non-issue than this if you ask me. Precisely because there is nothing Props can do about it. Nothing in the software world can ever be air-tight, and what people without internet do has nothing to do with me. Anyway Reason IS more an online software now, if you want to try RE's. I just don't see that leading to a significant amount of lost revenue for Props. After all you do need the key to start it offline.

Come to think of it, I don't even understand for the life of me why you're so against me complaining about the three-strikes-you're-out policy. Wait until it inevitably happens to you (maybe even by software error! haha!) and let's see if your attitude changes. Or do you not have it installed on two machines? Because if so I think you'd agree that having an auxiliary copy on a laptop is prettty useful.

Last edited by rogerlevy; 2012-08-14 at 15:20.
  #7  
Old 2012-08-14, 18:50
ethday's Avatar
ethday ethday is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 393
I've not experienced this problem yet because I'm only on one machine, but what if you're not logged in, or connected to the internet - can't you have Reason open on two computers if one of them is "unplugged"? Certainly they don't have someone outside your house with a pair of binoculars.
  #8  
Old 2012-08-24, 23:24
particlejunkie's Avatar
particlejunkie particlejunkie is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 2,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by ethday View Post
I've not experienced this problem yet because I'm only on one machine, but what if you're not logged in, or connected to the internet - can't you have Reason open on two computers if one of them is "unplugged"? Certainly they don't have someone outside your house with a pair of binoculars.
Yeah, the problem arises when you are using internet verification on more than one computer at the same time. If you are using dongle verification only or have an unplugged machine I don't think the Props have any way of detecting you running more than one instance at a time.

I wonder, if you are using dongle verification exclusively, would it be allowed by the EULA to run 2 copies of Reason at the same time? One of them will be running in demo mode, which doesn't interfere too much with normal operation, provided you load the file you want to work on before swapping the dongle to the other machine. I'm too lazy to read the EULA again to see what it may say about that.
__________________
www.soundcloud.com/particlejunkie

Brought to you by Carl's Jr.
  #9  
Old 2012-08-14, 19:28
kevmove02's Avatar
kevmove02 kevmove02 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,534
Until I read this thread, I didn't even know the warning message existed. Whether you like it or not, Propellerhead has a right to protect its intellectual property. You may not like it and you might even hate it, but as long as you choose to use software that is heavily pirated, you have to expect some inconveniences. At this point, I will throw some fuel on the fire and ask you why you chose to air your grievance here, instead of sending a message directly to Support? It's not like we have a way of fixing this particular problem. Many others before you have suggested that the Ignition Key needs to be replaced with a simpler method of ownership verification. I am pretty certain that many, many people have raised the "you wouldn't exist without me" banner to no avail or satisfaction. I will tell what has brought me a great deal of satisfaction: I haven't experienced a single one of the myriad of complaints related to the thousands of changes that have been made since the inception of this hallowed software. Maybe I got the one copy that has no flaws, errors or glitches?

Remember, this is a public forum, so if you have the right to rant, then I have the right to rant about your rant, so don't try to say I can't rant.
  #10  
Old 2012-08-14, 20:11
tomduff tomduff is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 71
I think the title of this thread is a bit aggressive and gives the wrong impression. I might be making an assumption, but I think the desire is to stop us starting 2 copies of Reason rather than letting it happen and then locking us out.

I am not currently experiencing this as my laptop is not up to task, but I intend to be in a position to run Reason on both my desktop and a shiny new laptop when funds allow (if I can stop spending my spare? cash on REs anyway). Neither of these will be a full time DAWs though and it is quite likely that I would leave Reason running on one without thinking and start it on the other. Or since my daughter likes playing on the keyboard it gets run at home whilst I am away with work and unknowingly start it on my laptop, or vice verse. Hence a warning/restriction/forcing log out/dropping into demo mode/whatever when detected would be preferable to a lock.

I have no issue with the Propellerheads protecting their property and the set up appears to work quite well - significantly better than the huge Cubase dongle I used to have to wobble in my serial port as I started the program. But I think that the current approach that appears to knowing let you abuse the license and then lock you out rather than assisting you in avoiding misuse is a bit backwards.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WHO A WANT A FREE SOFTWARE UNDER ARTIST CONTROL? sebdj General Forum (read only) 18 2009-02-19 06:00
Hardware or Software?? tamias6 General Forum (read only) 2 2006-04-16 22:48
About "WaRnInG regarding software controllers" Demonsp General Forum (read only) 1 2002-11-29 17:00
I'm on a software buying spree... help me out! Please? thral General Forum (read only) 25 2002-09-07 18:08
Newbee Building a Software Studio (Ref Logic Audio & Reason) graymadder General Forum (read only) 1 2002-07-24 20:19


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:29.