Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2012-08-15, 23:09
monks monks is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
Mic preamps

Hi, -a general recording question. I'm using a condenser mic into an external soundcard (Focusrite Saffire 10/10). The card has phantom power. The phantom power seems to create a lot of hum compared to the low signal input livel. I'm having to turn up the soundcard input volume but the hum is drowning out the input signal. For best practice, would I be better off pre-amping the mic before the soundcard?

Cheers,
monks
  #2  
Old 2012-08-16, 02:35
auschris auschris is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 101
I am not familiar with the device but if you do have access to an external preamp give it a try and hear if there is any difference.
  #3  
Old 2012-08-17, 07:00
djfm1983's Avatar
djfm1983 djfm1983 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by monks View Post
I'm using a condenser mic into an external soundcard (Focusrite Saffire 10/10). The card has phantom power. The phantom power seems to create a lot of hum compared to the low signal input livel.
I don't know if I read your post right... are you getting a signal on your mic without using phantom power? I can't get any signal on my condenser without phantom power on. Are you talking about whenever you don't use your mic but the line level input? The hum could be a grounding issue with all of your gear. It could be the AC noise. Does your mic have a low cut filter? That can help a bit. I use the Focusrite 2i2 with no issues with hum whenever the phantom power is on.
  #4  
Old 2012-08-17, 13:08
dacess123 dacess123 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 252
Hey dude, sounds like you either haven't dialed in the correct settings somewhere, or you have a bad connection. I have the Trakmaster pro now but I used to used the Saffire Pro 40 and there definitely was no hum at all - it was very quiet in fact.

Does the Saffire 10/10 come with the audio routing software? You might need to configure the way the inputs transfer into your computer.
__________________
Check out the links below to hear Music I've made using Reason!

http://www.patrickjay.co.uk/
http://soundcloud.com/search?q%5Bfulltext%5D=patrickjay
  #5  
Old 2012-09-18, 00:15
monks monks is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
Sorry for very late response. Forum didn't inform me of replies. I'm really not sure what it is...I'll have to investigate. In the meantime I've been doing recording vocs at another studio. I'm using a brand new Klotz double shielded cable here so it can't be that. I'm pretty clued up as to software routing- pretty experienced with that, so I don't think it's that either. The soundcard comes with very straightforward, lean software I'm beginning to think it's the mic but I don't have a spare to check it. That's the next thing I'll try. The grounding is another possibility.
Thanks for the help

monks
  #6  
Old 2012-09-18, 00:36
omshanti20 omshanti20 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 755
**********************

Last edited by omshanti20; 2013-05-10 at 03:34.
  #7  
Old 2012-09-18, 00:42
MayorMcCheese MayorMcCheese is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 770
Get Balance and solve all the problems at once and have Clip Safe on top of that. Sell off your exisiting stuff and be a happy camper.
__________________
waldenroadmusic.bandcamp.com
  #8  
Old 2012-09-22, 01:25
monks monks is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
Ok, so looks like I need to check this mic first and then go from there. Focusrite told me that the hum sounded like a defect in the unit...Clipsafe looks pretty useful, -totally right about the trying to be performer and engineer at the same time. :-)

Thanks,
monks
  #9  
Old 2012-09-22, 08:30
omshanti20 omshanti20 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 755
**********************

Last edited by omshanti20; 2013-05-10 at 03:34.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinking of getting Balance - Preamps mouema Phead User Forum (read only) 3 2012-07-11 23:47
Mic preamps for vocals and stratocaster (test) Boilerz Phead User Forum (read only) 10 2012-05-25 03:29
Does anyone use Mic preamps with Focusrite interface? tintala Phead User Forum (read only) 3 2011-11-15 21:19
Do external preamps pickup lesser background noises compare to buil-in ones? dudelab21 Phead User Forum (read only) 9 2011-09-16 09:55
What preamps work with Record? johnhopkinsii General Forum (read only) 8 2010-09-05 12:33


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:03.