Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-08-16, 14:07
nicolai nicolai is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2
Can I install Reason 6.5 demo next to Reason 4?

I want to try out the latest version (6.5) without de-installing my current version (Reason 4). I suppose it's not a problem but I want to make sure that I won't be in for any surprises. Thank you for your help.

Cheers
  #2  
Old 2012-08-16, 14:21
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
What OS are you running?

You should be fine as Reason 4 didn't use the Ignition Key so you won't have conflicting CodeMeter drivers. Just install in to a different directory such as "Reason 6.5"
  #3  
Old 2012-08-16, 14:26
nicolai nicolai is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2
I'm still running Windows XP.


Good idea to remind me to install it in a different directory. [wink]
  #4  
Old 2012-08-17, 01:39
reasoner498's Avatar
reasoner498 reasoner498 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 836
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicolai
Good idea to remind me to install it in a different directory. [wink]
By default, Reason installs itself to a folder named "Reason". If you just rename your folders with a version number when you install it, you can run all of them on the same system.

However, what will happen is... your preferences will be overwritten when starting different versions. This is because they're stored in your user profile in a folder called "Reason", and that's what it looks for, so you can't have separate folders.

However, you *can* manually rename your prefs folders to keep multiple versions. For example...

Reason - v6.5
Reason - v4

Then just rename the versioned folder to "Reason" when you want to use that version.

This is a bit of a hassle if you frequently switch back and forth, but it works well when you only visit a certain version for a specific purpose.
  #5  
Old 2012-08-17, 17:59
ShelLuser's Avatar
ShelLuser ShelLuser is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicolai View Post
I want to try out the latest version (6.5) without de-installing my current version (Reason 4). I suppose it's not a problem but I want to make sure that I won't be in for any surprises. Thank you for your help.
Shouldn't pose any problems.

I've recently did this myself (not longer than a month ago) and it just worked without trouble. Because of the differences in copy protection I could even relatively easy switch back and forth.

As another poster already said; do keep the mixed preferences in mind. For me it posed no problem because my Reason always loads a specific Song which I have fully optimized for daily usage (which in my case means rewired into Live) but I could imagine that this could pose some issues.

Even so; I never encountered any.

Beware though... Chances are quite high that you'll never want to go back again and grab your creditcard before you even realize it. I'm biased, sure, but approx. $150,- is IMVHO a bargain because us Reason 4 users not only get a Reason upgrade, we get the Record part as well.


One word of advice... Don't let it overwhelm you! I'm not saying that; if you take a first look at the new mixer section then I'm pretty sure you will feel overwhelmed, esp. if you are very familiar with the 14:2 mixer.

Also keep well in mind that even if you do feel overwhelmed and are not really sure about all that new stuff you can always use your old workflow in Reason 6. Meaning; disconnect the master device from the hardware device, fold it, add a 14:2 and simply add your new devices directly under the 14:2 for auto connections or connect them manually.

All the advantages which 6.5 has to offer (extended racks are really usefull!) but without the overwhelming aspects such as the new mixer section.

Just saying.. Though I do want to stress out that IMVHO it really pays off to spend time with the new mixer and to learn it. Just don't try to take on too much at once.

Hope this can help too!
__________________
With kind regards,

Peter

Using the Big Trio: Live 9 Suite, Max (for Live) and Reason 6.5.
Spam: SynthFan.info

 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Analysis of Reason & Fair Product Pricing Strategy Concept To Sort Things Out scottym Phead User Forum (read only) 18 2011-10-04 00:58
?'s about exporting tracks out of RSN and into another app. DSUB Phead User Forum (read only) 8 2011-02-21 03:42
Reason Drum Kits 2.0 Demo ReFill with Reason Adapted 4 shemeckfrac Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2010-02-10 14:00


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:11.