Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2012-08-26, 05:08
efremc efremc is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 13
rewire as fx/ routing Virtual I/Os

Is it possible to rewire Reason into another daw to be used as an fx rack on tracks? Just to try routing tracks into Reason fx from another daw and back to record it. A faster work flow than importing and exporting between applications. Old sessions in other daws can be remixed and or enhanced for simple experimentation. Like sends and returns virtualy through Reason.

Last edited by efremc; 2012-08-26 at 05:51. Reason: addition
  #2  
Old 2012-08-26, 08:16
Benedict's Avatar
Benedict Benedict is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,938
No is the simple answer. ReWire will allow passing audio from Slave (Reason) to Host (Cubase etc.) but not the other way. MIDI is the opposite.

You'd have to export/import stems.

__________________
Benedict Roff-Marsh
- - - - - - - - - -
Music: Bandcamp
ReFills: OSC + Filter - Super Mono-Synth
  #3  
Old 2012-08-26, 11:11
normen's Avatar
normen normen is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,513
Or you do what I do and do the producing in Reason and the final mixing in another application You can even do both at once if you either have a hefty computer (Rewire) and don't care so much about latency (lots of channels and fx requires higher latency settings) or connect two computers via a multichannel audio interface (like I do).
__________________
Plugin latency issues? Phasing on parallel channels? Want to know the real latency of your audio interface? Try the VMG-01!
Professional Audio Engineer at Theater Bremen, Germany • Part Time Programmer
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with REWIRE workflow issues. funkstone Phead User Forum (read only) 3 2011-01-21 20:51
Cubase rewire routing remembering problem - help! Nickpowell Phead User Forum (read only) 2 2008-11-09 21:39
stereo routing in hardware interface for rewire???? jeshim General Forum (read only) 3 2005-09-16 18:45
ReWIre just stopped working then started then stopped daizm General Forum (read only) 0 2003-11-09 05:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:19.