Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2012-09-24, 00:14
jimidjango's Avatar
jimidjango jimidjango is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 41
Question Windows laptop with two hard drives...

Q: Is it possible to make one of the hd's run Mac OS? If so, how would I go about that?

Thanks for the help!!
  #2  
Old 2012-09-24, 04:41
SteveDiverse's Avatar
SteveDiverse SteveDiverse is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3,618
Not possible.

FYI, 'dual boot' (two operating systems) has nothing to do with having two hard drives.

You can dual boot with one hard drive - but...

Apple computers can dual boot MAC OS and Windows.

PC's / Laptops cannot dual boot Windows and MAC OS.

It's a hardware thing.
__________________

HP Pavillion DV7T-3300 Laptop | i7 Q720 @ 1.6 GHz | 4GB RAM | Win7 Pro 64-bit
m-audio Axiom Pro 61 keyboard controller || iPad2 | RetouchControl DUO | TouchOSC | LoopBe30 MIDI
m-audio Mobile Pre USB (original) audio interface | ASIO4ALL || RĂ˜DE NT-3 mic
Reason 6.5.3 || Pulsar | Saturation Knob | Rough Rider | TSAR-1 | Uhbik-A | Re-Tron | Polar | Echobode | Uhbik Q | Uhbik F | Morfin XF | Uhbik S | Uhbik D | Uhbik G | CV Suite Line Processor | wbl5515 | Uhbik P | RE-2A | Radical Piano
  #3  
Old 2012-09-24, 05:49
jimidjango's Avatar
jimidjango jimidjango is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 41
Thanks for the info Steve. I shall purge that thought from my mind
  #4  
Old 2012-09-24, 08:47
dvdfilmbuff's Avatar
dvdfilmbuff dvdfilmbuff is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveDiverse View Post
Not possible.

FYI, 'dual boot' (two operating systems) has nothing to do with having two hard drives.

You can dual boot with one hard drive - but...

Apple computers can dual boot MAC OS and Windows.

PC's / Laptops cannot dual boot Windows and MAC OS.

It's a hardware thing.
Actually, thats not strictly true.

Your laptop should (depending on its age) be able to boot to an external HDD (F9 or F12) to change boot device, but you then have the issue of getting the second OS on the external HDD. Unless you know someone with a MAC who can install YOUR LEGAL COPY OF MAC OS X on a spare HDD, which you can then add to a USB to SATA caddy and boot from, you are stuck. Even then, the hardware drivers will not be correct for your laptop.

All new MACS run on Intel chips and the Intel version of MAC OS X runs nice on some Windows hardware.

The easiest thing to do if you really really really want to run MAC OS is to download something like Virtualbox and create a virtual machine that you can run along side Windows (You can run it full screen so it looks like the only OS running) - This depends on your bare metal hardware tho as you will need some grunt to run MAC OS fast enough, especially if you want to use Reason!

Just my 2 pennies worth, from past experience.

Mike
  #5  
Old 2012-09-24, 08:59
dreampolice's Avatar
dreampolice dreampolice is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,057
^^ I would not exactly call this legal. And sometimes it is not even easy to do, but it can work.
__________________
http://drunkpedestrians.com/
  #6  
Old 2012-09-24, 10:14
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
You can only legally run macos on apple hardware
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to Get Alesis io2 to Work with Record on my Windows Vista Laptop Musicgirl Phead User Forum (read only) 3 2011-05-24 04:47
External Hard Drives Neil2674 Phead User Forum (read only) 23 2010-06-02 11:25
Laptop windows 7 hardware reviews READ!?! sh49004 Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2010-01-05 17:44
Will Reason work on my both my Windows Laptop and Mac? harryd General Forum (read only) 2 2009-03-17 20:59
is 2 hard drives really necessary? jayr0444 General Forum (read only) 3 2002-09-19 23:34


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:08.