Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2012-09-27, 17:28
ljuliano ljuliano is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 19
No Stereo in Hardware Outputs

I've routed each Audio Track/Instrument into a Spyder splitter and then routed the split signal into 2 14:2 Mixers. Then routed the output of each mixer to it's own output channel in the hardware I/O at the top. And it all works perfectly. The only problem is that it's in mono, and Yes, the pictures show only the left output from the mixers into the Master EQ and then into its own Hardware Output(3 and 4 in this case). But I can't figure out how to send the mixer in stereo into one Hardware Output. I've tried sending the mixer out stereo into a spyder merger and merged the two signals together and then sent it into to the Hardware Output, but it still plays in Mono. I've referred to the manual of my Interface and the 8 Outputs are TRS balanced line outputs, and it doesn't say anything about the 2 headphone outputs on the front(that play stereo) being TRS, and I don't know if that makes a difference on if the 8 outputs aren't stereo individually.

Six-input, ten-output audio configuration
• Up to 24-bit/192kHz operation
• Two high-quality mic/instrument preamps featuring Octane
TM technology, LED meters, and phantom power

• Two front-panel XLR/TS Combo jacks accepting mic or instrument level inputs
• Two rear-panel 1/4” TRS balanced line inputs
• Eight rear-panel 1/4” TRS balanced line outputs
• Two independent 1/4” headphone outputs with volume control knobs for each output
• S/PDIF In/Out
• MIDI In/Out
• Powerful onboard DSP providing five near-zero latency 16x2 monitor mixers
• User-assignable Master Volume control
• Functions as a standalone two-channel mic preamp and A/D – D/A converter


Attached Images
File Type: jpg Pic1.jpg (38.3 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg Pic2.jpg (40.6 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg Pic3.jpg (38.7 KB, 6 views)
  #2  
Old 2012-09-27, 17:49
selig's Avatar
selig selig is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljuliano View Post
I've routed each Audio Track/Instrument into a Spyder splitter and then routed the split signal into 2 14:2 Mixers. Then routed the output of each mixer to it's own output channel in the hardware I/O at the top. And it all works perfectly. The only problem is that it's in mono, and Yes, the pictures show only the left output from the mixers into the Master EQ and then into its own Hardware Output(3 and 4 in this case). But I can't figure out how to send the mixer in stereo into one Hardware Output. I've tried sending the mixer out stereo into a spyder merger and merged the two signals together and then sent it into to the Hardware Output, but it still plays in Mono. I've referred to the manual of my Interface and the 8 Outputs are TRS balanced line outputs, and it doesn't say anything about the 2 headphone outputs on the front(that play stereo) being TRS, and I don't know if that makes a difference on if the 8 outputs aren't stereo individually.

Six-input, ten-output audio configuration
• Up to 24-bit/192kHz operation
• Two high-quality mic/instrument preamps featuring Octane
TM technology, LED meters, and phantom power

• Two front-panel XLR/TS Combo jacks accepting mic or instrument level inputs
• Two rear-panel 1/4” TRS balanced line inputs
• Eight rear-panel 1/4” TRS balanced line outputs
• Two independent 1/4” headphone outputs with volume control knobs for each output
• S/PDIF In/Out
• MIDI In/Out
• Powerful onboard DSP providing five near-zero latency 16x2 monitor mixers
• User-assignable Master Volume control
• Functions as a standalone two-channel mic preamp and A/D – D/A converter


Not sure what the question is, but each output in Reason is a single output, and a stereo signal requires two outputs (Left & RIght). So Hardware Interface 1&2 are the first "Stereo" output pair, 3&4 are the second STEREO output pair, etc.

All of the mixer and sends in Reason have two jacks on the outputs that TOGETHER are a stereo pair. In Reason there is no such thing as at single jack that carries two signals (like a TRS jack IRL). Hope something in what I said answers your question! :-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
  #3  
Old 2012-09-27, 17:54
bitleyTM's Avatar
bitleyTM bitleyTM is online now
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 2,357
__________________


Fairlight Platinum, Orlando JX10, Flux, O8 and more - high quality refills to get your creative juices flowing!

http://bitley.laconicsounds.net
  #4  
Old 2012-09-27, 18:24
ljuliano ljuliano is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 19
My interface has 8 outputs on the back of it that are synched to the 1st 8 outputs of the Hardware I/O in Reason. Whenever I route the left of the 14:2 Mixer to Hardware Output 1 in Reason, that mixer plays out of Output 1 in Mono through my M-Audio Interface. Same with the mixer's right channel going to Reason's Hardware Output 2, the mixer plays out of Output 2 in Mono through my M-Audio Interface. What I'm asking is, why can't I play out of Output 1 in Stereo instead of Mono. Same with Output 2.
  #5  
Old 2012-09-27, 19:03
Dave909's Avatar
Dave909 Dave909 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,411
Coss that's the way it works. All outputs are mono.
__________________
Check out Dave909
  #6  
Old 2012-09-27, 19:28
ljuliano ljuliano is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 19
Ok. So I need to figure some way on my Interface's Menu to combine each mono output into one stereo output out only one of the Outputs on the Interface.
  #7  
Old 2012-09-27, 19:29
ljuliano ljuliano is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 19
Is there an adapter that exists where you come out of two 1/4 inch jacks and then combine into one headphone jack?
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to make new instruments automaticallly connect to the next available outputs? philigion General Forum (read only) 2 2010-08-09 07:25
Controlling hardware with MIDI output from Record or Reason demo bighorse Phead User Forum (read only) 3 2010-07-02 04:42
Rewire Stereo Channels SonicDimension Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2010-05-31 21:51
Hardware, why have you forsaken me? blank Phead User Forum (read only) 27 2009-02-24 19:24
Are there any benefits to using a hardware synthesizer? Muzak Phead User Forum (read only) 17 2005-08-14 03:14


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:33.