Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2012-10-27, 18:55
Moomin Moomin is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 26
Windows 8/Reason 6.5/AMD

Right,

Can anyone tell me what is going on.

Just installed windows8 and have an AMD processor. Apparently this means Reason will not work! WTF?! Please say this is a joke or I have overlooked a simple patch to solve this problem. Its not like Windows8 hasn't been available to test for about a year or anything?!
  #2  
Old 2012-10-27, 19:01
sndevink sndevink is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
Check this thread out:

https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...=167435&page=2

See the post at the bottom to get Reason to work.

I hope the fix they are working on will allow operation without Hyper V.
  #3  
Old 2012-10-28, 18:55
Moomin Moomin is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by sndevink View Post
Check this thread out:

https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...=167435&page=2

See the post at the bottom to get Reason to work.

I hope the fix they are working on will allow operation without Hyper V.

Me too! Thanks muchly. I'll give it a go now...
  #4  
Old 2012-10-28, 19:30
Moomin Moomin is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 26
Tried Hyper V and still no joy. Tried everything and still get message during installation:

"Programme could not run due to unexpected problem"

Says the same thing when I try to install Authorizer.

I'm hoping there will will be an update on this issue from Props. Been a user since Reason 2 and now use this software for my work! Not good.

Anyone else emailed Props and had a reply? Not heard beck from them yet. Are they working on it or not?
  #5  
Old 2012-10-28, 19:58
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moomin View Post
Says the same thing when I try to install Authorizer.
There is no standalone download for Authorizer 2

Props currently have a new release in test http://www.propellerheads.se/betatest/sign-up/index.cfm
  #6  
Old 2012-10-28, 20:18
Sipher's Avatar
Sipher Sipher is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 417
What version of windows 8 do you have? I have heard that the pro version doesn't have this issue.
  #7  
Old 2012-11-11, 16:19
audia8 audia8 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moomin View Post
Right,

Can anyone tell me what is going on.

Just installed windows8 and have an AMD processor. Apparently this means Reason will not work! WTF?! Please say this is a joke or I have overlooked a simple patch to solve this problem. Its not like Windows8 hasn't been available to test for about a year or anything?!
i have the same problem here. is there any solution out yet anybody help?
  #8  
Old 2012-11-11, 16:52
Arsenic's Avatar
Arsenic Arsenic is online now
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 708
The new version (6.5.2) is now out and should fix the issue.

Download and read the info at the bottom, here :
https://www.propellerheads.se/downlo...icle=reason652

Bug fix list here :
https://www.propellerheads.se/downlo...icle=reason652
  #9  
Old 2012-11-18, 09:55
UnderStudio2010's Avatar
UnderStudio2010 UnderStudio2010 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10
Hyper-v

Info:

http://blogs.technet.com/b/iftekhar/...n-hyper-v.aspx
  #10  
Old 2013-02-08, 04:43
Baleno
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
So I spent yesterday and a few hours today searching online and found this gem.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7NspWjNrhTE

Windows might report this as a virus but I tried it (for reason 5) anyway and it WORKED. It modifies your registry file I think. Again try it at your own risk I didn't make this all I know is it WORKED. Just run the patch every time before you run Reason. MAGIC, thank the guy who wrote this patch.


If you're really worried about your computer safety just do a system restore point and if it screws up somehow just have it restored.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reason And Windows 7 RC 64-bit sprogis Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2009-07-13 04:44
The Windows Vista audio team talks... blank Phead User Forum (read only) 8 2006-06-21 01:01
DavidTee Windows XP DAW-VST-DXI-proaudioOptimization HYPN Music Forum (read only) 1 2005-06-04 15:57


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:50.