Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-10-29, 22:22
pullpoti's Avatar
pullpoti pullpoti is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 117
routing slices into individual mix channels

Sorry, if I overlooked this (I watched a lot of tutorials but didn't find), how to create individual channels for more than 8 (or 4) slices in Dr OctoRex. Why are the outputs paired (1-2, 3-4...) but only for four slices and not for more if there can be more slices?
  #2  
Old 2012-10-29, 22:38
RXTX's Avatar
RXTX RXTX is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 562
For mono REX loops, you can use up to 8 external outputs. For stereo REX loops, you can use up to 4 pairs of outputs.

If you need more outputs, I guess you'll have to use multiple Dr. Octorexes with the same loop loaded.
  #3  
Old 2012-10-29, 22:42
pullpoti's Avatar
pullpoti pullpoti is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 117
Unhappy

I guessed it
  #4  
Old 2012-10-30, 12:28
Mate Mate is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by pullpoti View Post
I guessed it
Try to use Kong then, with the Nurse Rex you can sort your Rex Files pretty cool out there & have 16 mono outs & a lot of effects & so on... Anyway it depends on what you need!
  #5  
Old 2012-10-30, 12:57
LABONERECORDINGS's Avatar
LABONERECORDINGS LABONERECORDINGS is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by RXTX View Post
For mono REX loops, you can use up to 8 external outputs. For stereo REX loops, you can use up to 4 pairs of outputs.

If you need more outputs, I guess you'll have to use multiple Dr. Octorexes with the same loop loaded.

Or... try panning the slices so pair 1-2 means slice 1 = full left, slice 2 = full right, and rig up output 1 to left in channel 1 of mix14:2, output 2 to left in channel 2 of same mix14:2.... pair 3-4 to pan left/right, channel 3 L, channel 4 L of mix 14:2... so you can do it that way.

A good tip though.... if you have similar sounds (say a drum loop) so 2 snare slices sound the same, rig them through the same output on the DrOctoRex, so you 'save' another channel, why else have 2 channels for the same 'drum'? can do it with hats too...

You can also do all this with NNXT sampler, import Rex file into it like a sample, select all the keyranges, arrange chromatically so 'mirrors' a DrRex setup, drop another copy into a new DrRex, tell DrRex to copy to track, move MIDI clip to NNXT, delete DrRex and voila.... done.

In NNXT you could also 'double up' the rex slices, shift the whole lot over again (say if you have C1 to G2 reserved for your Rex file, you could duplicate the zones, move them up to C3 to G4, and set all so they play backwards) - that way you could do a few more tweaks with 'set 2' of the same loop and slices without interfering with the original... or you could mangle both in NNXT and load up DrRex as a side companion... or Kong em up too...

Sooo many options the beauty of racks
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mix midi channels farfar Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2006-08-29 22:09
Firewire 410 routing 8 individual out? kuribo3 General Forum (read only) 0 2005-04-03 01:20
Routing individual sounds to Mixer from NNXT sampler wil1870 General Forum (read only) 3 2004-02-26 21:56
Try this: separate FX on individual REX slices jonyo General Forum (read only) 11 2002-12-20 11:03


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:01.