Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2012-10-31, 17:44
solitaire solitaire is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 4
A Noise Gate

I have been using Reason for years and have never complained or made a suggestion. I think it's great. Nothing to complain about. As we speak, I'm working on a track and I need a noise gate. a simple, studio noise gate. Set a threshold, and it cuts off noise. if someone know's of a "reason-rigged" workaround, please let me know. But if you guys at Props could make one or get one of your third party, Rack Extensions guys to do it, that would be great.
  #2  
Old 2012-10-31, 17:53
Smedberg's Avatar
Smedberg Smedberg is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,094
The gate on the mixer maybe?
__________________
Pressing "PLAY" is NOT a live performance...
It's called "playback"
  #3  
Old 2012-10-31, 19:44
TheFatControlleR's Avatar
TheFatControlleR TheFatControlleR is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,387
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smedberg View Post
The gate on the mixer maybe?
Such a dynamic response. But, as you forgot to say it, I will; RTFM.

Seriously, as Smedberg said, it's already there on the SSL.

Not sure if OP is extracting the urine...
__________________
Total numpty doin' his own thing for the craic and relaxation - it's cheaper than a therapist, and more satisfying.
You've heard of The Hit Factory, well, welcome to the Sh!t Factory
~|~
'Going to trial with a lawyer who considers your whole life-style a crime in progress is not a happy prospect.' - Hunter S Thompson
~|~
'Live fat, die young, and leave a self-basting corpse for the burn up...' - TFC
  #4  
Old 2012-10-31, 20:11
rogerlevy rogerlevy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFatControlleR View Post
Such a dynamic response. But, as you forgot to say it, I will; RTFM.

Seriously, as Smedberg said, it's already there on the SSL.

Not sure if OP is extracting the urine...
This is true, but still I think it'd be cool to have an RE that does this, then you can do tricks with gates in combinators, without latency like you have with RV7K.
  #5  
Old 2012-10-31, 23:36
JakTheStripper's Avatar
JakTheStripper JakTheStripper is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogerlevy View Post
This is true, but still I think it'd be cool to have an RE that does this, then you can do tricks with gates in combinators, without latency like you have with RV7K.
You can already do that if you get a little creative with your patching. Run a split signal into an MClass compressor (the audio output doesn't need to go anywhere). Adjust the input & threshold to taste, and use the gain reduction CV output to trigger an envelope gate on the malstrom (which gives you complete control over the ADSR). That envolope CV can then control volume(like a noise gate), or whatever you like.

Hell, this might already be in the FSB. If not, maybe I'll have time later to make a patch and throw up here.

Last edited by JakTheStripper; 2012-10-31 at 23:43.
  #6  
Old 2012-11-01, 18:54
JakTheStripper's Avatar
JakTheStripper JakTheStripper is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 68
Noise gate: No update or REs required

Here's the combinator noise gate:

http://www.freefilehosting.net/noisegate

Right now this is just a simple noise gate, though I am working on adding an expander and keyed input. It works pretty much like the SSL channel gate (with out the features I'm still working on).

Last edited by JakTheStripper; 2012-11-01 at 18:57.
  #7  
Old 2012-11-01, 19:03
solitaire solitaire is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 4
thanks to all the smart alec's out there. i normally rewire everything so i don't use the mixer that much. but it was right in my face. thanks
  #8  
Old 2012-11-03, 10:47
Djjimmyc's Avatar
Djjimmyc Djjimmyc is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 756
Just in case you havn't seen it

https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=170281
__________________
SLICE OF DNB

Loading SoundCloud…
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Noise Gate DemonSeed General Forum (read only) 4 2013-07-01 10:05
Designing a Noise Gate in Reason 4 meowsqueak Phead User Forum (read only) 24 2009-03-24 21:19
Noise Gate reincarnationfish General Forum (read only) 0 2007-11-07 16:03
noise gating with the redrum gate cv? shizm Phead User Forum (read only) 2 2005-04-18 21:01


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:13.