Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > Feature Suggestion Forum

View Poll Results: Do u Guys "Agree" or "Disagree"
Agree 44 86.27%
Disagree 7 13.73%
Voters: 51. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-11-08, 05:06
mmj85's Avatar
mmj85 mmj85 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
Post Update SDK 4 Better CPU usage

All i want is Better CPU usage for RE's in Reason Everything else can wait! Something needs to be done here. I look at what people want next in reason and all i hear is more of this and more of that but with out realizing that more equals more "You Guessed it" CPU Usage!
This issue should be first on the list nothing else!
RE's r useless if they r not CPU friendly.
The SDK needs a lot of improvements.
From my experience with the new RE's i love them but that suddenly stops when your in the moment of being creative and u have to worry about your CPU running so hi so quickly in a session.

Please PH's Fix this first for us..

Mac Os X 64bit 2.5GHz Intel Core i5
12G RAM

I found this in PH's Website "Behind The Curtain"



Last edited by mmj85; 2012-11-10 at 23:01.
  #2  
Old 2012-11-08, 07:07
ljekio's Avatar
ljekio ljekio is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 960
Its true. Without REs I have worked with 20-30 audiochannels with effects and 2-3 loaded bars of DSP, but if I want to use one or two TSARs and one ETCH then possible only 8-10 channels with full loading DSP. It makes me a little nervous.
  #3  
Old 2012-11-08, 07:24
BonezMcCoy's Avatar
BonezMcCoy BonezMcCoy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,700
I am not voting because there can only be one vote here (why would I be against REs having better CPU usage?) and anyway Propellerhead have acknowledged the problem themselves and are perhaps already working on it. But what amazes me is that there is someone who has voted against better CPU usage. I wonder why they would like REs to be a CPU hog... makes no sense to me...
  #4  
Old 2012-11-08, 07:28
Dogboy1973's Avatar
Dogboy1973 Dogboy1973 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,728
But is the SDK to blame or is it the code developers are putting into it? Predator (for example) is a pretty hungry beast at the best of times. Can changes to the SDK male a difference in this type of situation?
__________________
  #5  
Old 2012-11-08, 07:37
BonezMcCoy's Avatar
BonezMcCoy BonezMcCoy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,700
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogboy1973 View Post
But is the SDK to blame or is it the code developers are putting into it? Predator (for example) is a pretty hungry beast at the best of times. Can changes to the SDK male a difference in this type of situation?
I am sure there will be CPU hungry REs, but there seems to be a problem regarding REs in general since the beginning, at least on some systems. Remember when they introduced Alligator, Pulveriser and The Echo, which we later learned were REs, and the complaints started?
  #6  
Old 2013-08-24, 09:17
JensenTNI JensenTNI is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 780
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogboy1973 View Post
But is the SDK to blame or is it the code developers are putting into it? Predator (for example) is a pretty hungry beast at the best of times. Can changes to the SDK male a difference in this type of situation?
u-he actually said so a few months ago when I specifically asked them why their RE's are so CPU demanding

Oh just saw this was an ancient post, hahaha...
  #7  
Old 2012-11-08, 07:42
mmj85's Avatar
mmj85 mmj85 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by BonezMcCoy View Post
I am not voting because there can only be one vote here (why would I be against REs having better CPU usage?) and anyway Propellerhead have acknowledged the problem themselves and are perhaps already working on it. But what amazes me is that there is someone who has voted against better CPU usage. I wonder why they would like REs to be a CPU hog... makes no sense to me...
I respect your decision for not voting my friend. As a Reason user i wanted to start this poll to have people have a say in what truly matters and that's stability with the program that we all use and enjoy.
  #8  
Old 2012-11-08, 07:48
BonezMcCoy's Avatar
BonezMcCoy BonezMcCoy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,700
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmj85 View Post
I respect your decision for not voting my friend. As a Reason user i wanted to start this poll to have people have a say in what truly matters and that's stability with the program that we all use and enjoy.
I agree with you. The thread is an excellent idea, I just think a poll (especially with those poll options) was not necessary.
  #9  
Old 2013-08-24, 15:08
HouseAudio HouseAudio is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by BonezMcCoy View Post
I am not voting because there can only be one vote here (why would I be against REs having better CPU usage?) and anyway Propellerhead have acknowledged the problem themselves and are perhaps already working on it. But what amazes me is that there is someone who has voted against better CPU usage. I wonder why they would like REs to be a CPU hog... makes no sense to me...
I sure dont have any problems with CPU usage, so each to their own.

If you want to save your CPU cycles you could use simpler synthesizer modules because they sure as hell wont become less CPU hungry with all the bells and whistles they have in theese days.
  #10  
Old 2012-11-08, 08:10
mmj85's Avatar
mmj85 mmj85 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
I remember i use to play, compose, experiment, design sounds for hours in Reason barely hitting about 3-4 bars of DSP and that's really why i loved Reason from all the rest! that i can trust it to keep going without stopping. To be honest i do understand why u would feel little nervous knowing that your DSP is near its peak and u only have added 3 RE's if your like me i am sure you would appreciate the ability to add a lot more in there to make things more interesting?!
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Update auf Record 1.5 Crezo Phead User Forum (read only) 11 2010-09-05 15:22
Free Record 1.5 update is NOT FREE to all users phobic Phead User Forum (read only) 35 2010-08-29 21:16
Authentication problem solved (Mac security update) admin Phead User Forum (read only) 24 2010-01-24 21:29
Authentication problem solved (Mac security update) admin General Forum (read only) 1 2010-01-23 05:49
Update Bazeado General Forum (read only) 1 2003-03-30 22:20


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:25.