Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2012-12-01, 02:04
Elronncee Elronncee is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 24
Echo question

I've been messing around with the echo more and ran into a problem.

I have two echos set up on an instrument, the first for general delay on the instrument. It's set on normal mode with 50% dry wet output and no ducking.

The 2nd is used for modulation set on roll mode, it's set at 100% dry wet with full ducking. Whenever I activate the roll mode, it decreases the volume of the instrument. I'd like to achieve this effect without decreasing volume.

I have the drive set all the way up on both echos.

Any help would be appreciated.
  #2  
Old 2012-12-01, 03:07
Benedict's Avatar
Benedict Benedict is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,927
Hi

Without seeing what you have done it is a bit hard to answer.

If it is something endemic to the nature of the unit (or physics) then you could also have two chains; one for the normal sound and the other for the Roll sound and use the cool Morphin Crossfader RE to handle the transition. This adds another layer (which in Combi you can program out) but allows you to tune volumes and other changes with other units like Pulverisers.

I hope that helps some.

__________________
Benedict Roff-Marsh
- - - - - - - - - -
Music: Bandcamp
ReFills: OSC + Filter - Super Mono-Synth
  #3  
Old 2012-12-01, 12:11
tincture's Avatar
tincture tincture is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,824
You could put a compressor or maximiser after your roll echo and automate the bypass/on or input (or output) gain so that it triggers when you trigger the roll to increase the gain to compensate for the drop in volume. You could probably combinate the whole set-up and automate the gain increase to a button or rotary on the combinator for easier automation/triggering.
__________________
Zac Scott
http://soundcloud.com/tincture-1
Loading SoundCloud…
Synth Rock
  #4  
Old 2012-12-01, 23:42
Elronncee Elronncee is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by tincture View Post
You could put a compressor or maximiser after your roll echo and automate the bypass/on or input (or output) gain so that it triggers when you trigger the roll to increase the gain to compensate for the drop in volume. You could probably combinate the whole set-up and automate the gain increase to a button or rotary on the combinator for easier automation/triggering.
Yeah, this is what I ended up doing. I just feel like it's the cheap way to do it. I'd like to learn how to use more mergers and splitters, but haven't really gotten around to it yet.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
#66 - The ECHO Echo echo. . . Reason1O1 Phead User Forum (read only) 8 2011-10-09 03:29
The Echo - volume drop on roll - help mcveighj General Forum (read only) 2 2011-10-06 11:05
ECHO echo echo timmone Phead User Forum (read only) 17 2010-06-23 19:42
Playback Problems: Echo Effect KillerXC General Forum (read only) 13 2010-02-13 19:51
Echo Echo Echo Echo loveartist2 Phead User Forum (read only) 2 2009-12-10 15:28


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:33.