Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-12-18, 23:12
smeenz smeenz is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 20
Reason Gurus help please

Hey guys. Really loving Reason, but theres a few irks that are driving me crazing that I can't find a work around on my own, wondering if anyone knew how to help.

Zooming. How do I remap the keys so I can use my middle mouse wheel to zoom (and probably Control-Middle Mouse Wheel to zoom in vertically). Clicking those little + and - buttons is insanely slow.

How do I get the sequencer to follow the mixer and rack views when I solo or mute a track? Also, when I rearrange the track order on the sequencer view, the mixer doesn't follow copy the new track order.

Finally, how do I hide unused tracks on the sequencer and mixer windows?

Many thanks
  #2  
Old 2012-12-19, 13:40
djfresha's Avatar
djfresha djfresha is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 422
Fast zoom.... ok use Ctrl- and mouse wheel to zoom in, Shift- and wheel to scroll - CTRl+Shift+ wheel - zoom and scroll same time

Sequencer to follow the mixer... you mean automation? Alt-click to allow automation editing, and on the sequencer the control will appear. Then draw in the automation to allow mute on / off. you draw the automation in clips, so you can reposition them and / or timestretch them like audio (siik)

you can't hide mixer tracks, only fold / unfold. If you are not using anything on them at all, then kill / delete them off
__________________
Fresha
CEO of HUB CENTRAL, Lab:One Syndicate

ReQ·131 in the RE Store:
http://shop.propellerheads.se/produc...31-31-band-eq/

Lab:One Recordings (C) 2011-2012
http://www.lab-one-recordings.co.uk
  #3  
Old 2012-12-19, 18:12
selig's Avatar
selig selig is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,510
The solos and mutes on the sequencer are different from the solos and mutes on the mixer, so they simply cannot be linked (one mutes data near the beginning of the signal path while the other mutes audio near the end of the signal path).

Linking them would be similar to linking the mute on a send with the mute on the return - they are both mutes but they do different things because they are at different points in the signal path. :-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
  #4  
Old 2012-12-19, 18:39
Mate Mate is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by selig View Post
The solos and mutes on the sequencer are different from the solos and mutes on the mixer, so they simply cannot be linked (one mutes data near the beginning of the signal path while the other mutes audio near the end of the signal path).

Linking them would be similar to linking the mute on a send with the mute on the return - they are both mutes but they do different things because they are at different points in the signal path. :-)
Glies, don't get me wrong or any banter, I'm really serious as I could to be in my life now!

I've heard (as I think you & a lot of people) that Johnny bought cool mansion in Nashville, so I gave a thought to myself that you could meet him & make some soundtracks for his new projects!

Wouldn't it be cool?
  #5  
Old 2012-12-19, 19:38
selig's Avatar
selig selig is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mate View Post
Glies, don't get me wrong or any banter, I'm really serious as I could to be in my life now!

I've heard (as I think you & a lot of people) that Johnny bought cool mansion in Nashville, so I gave a thought to myself that you could meet him & make some soundtracks for his new projects!

Wouldn't it be cool?
I guess I should do the neighborly thing and drop by and introduce myself!!! ;-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
  #6  
Old 2012-12-19, 19:43
Mate Mate is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by selig View Post
I guess I should do the neighborly thing and drop by and introduce myself!!! ;-)
Should do!

Cheers!
  #7  
Old 2012-12-20, 08:34
smeenz smeenz is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by djfresha View Post
Fast zoom.... ok use Ctrl- and mouse wheel to zoom in, Shift- and wheel to scroll - CTRl+Shift+ wheel - zoom and scroll same time

Sequencer to follow the mixer... you mean automation? Alt-click to allow automation editing, and on the sequencer the control will appear. Then draw in the automation to allow mute on / off. you draw the automation in clips, so you can reposition them and / or timestretch them like audio (siik)

you can't hide mixer tracks, only fold / unfold. If you are not using anything on them at all, then kill / delete them off
Thanks DJFresha - thats perfect. Glies sorted the question on sequencer following mixer.
  #8  
Old 2012-12-20, 08:41
smeenz smeenz is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 20
Glies. Cheers for the info on the mixer/sequencer linking, thats exactly what I was after.
I don't understand why that matters though? A mute is a mute, who cares where it is on the signal path. The mixer mute/solos links with the rack, which is technically before the channel mute/solos.
  #9  
Old 2012-12-20, 10:00
dudelab21's Avatar
dudelab21 dudelab21 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by smeenz View Post
Glies. Cheers for the info on the mixer/sequencer linking, thats exactly what I was after.
I don't understand why that matters though? A mute is a mute, who cares where it is on the signal path. The mixer mute/solos links with the rack, which is technically before the channel mute/solos.

If you listen to it closely, their mute behaves differently. The mute for sequencer tracks only mutes the sound but not the effects, try it on some tracks that has a lot of fx or release coz you'll still hear it after you mute it... While on Mixer's mute, when you mute, it mutes all the signals. You can automate it too.(Nice for chopped up stutter effect)
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…

Last edited by dudelab21; 2012-12-20 at 10:02.
  #10  
Old 2012-12-20, 10:38
smeenz smeenz is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 20
Mmmkay, I hear it. Its weird though, and pretty annoying imho.

Cheers mate.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Popular Plugins as Combinator Patches NoelGMusic Phead User Forum (read only) 216 2013-09-25 02:12
Why I simply cannot bring myself to buy Reason kolakube General Forum (read only) 156 2013-03-23 00:37
An Analysis of Reason & Fair Product Pricing Strategy Concept To Sort Things Out scottym Phead User Forum (read only) 18 2011-10-04 00:58
People just face it; Reason rules again! :) [n/t] eric General Forum (read only) 26 2011-08-02 01:49
How do I solve that factory sound bank thingie? vectro Phead User Forum (read only) 6 2009-05-19 20:11


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:57.