Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-12-23, 03:39
alternating.bit's Avatar
alternating.bit alternating.bit is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 599
Studio monitors used with mixed inputs possible?

I'm a noob as far as monitors go as I've always mastered with headphones (yes, I know that's bad).

Anyway, I just received my brand new pair of KRK Rockit 5's today, and since I have an external sound card for my music due to mic input (Focusrite Scarlett 2i2) used strictly for Reason and music recording/producing, I'm wondering if I can SHARE my KRK speakers with the Scarlett's XLR inputs, and say my computer PC RCA's into the speakers for when I switch over to regular computer use (music listening, gaming, web surfing etc.) or could there be some dangerous polarity mixup or something that could damage the speakers? Mind you I wouldn't be using playing content from both Reason and the computer at the same time, although it's possible a Windows alert sound or something might pop up during production.

So I'll re-ask my question simpler:

Is it ok to hook up TWO different sources into my Rockit 5's, one via XLR, and one RCA or 1/4" and use the speakers for both sources?

Thanks
__________________
~alternatingbitmusic on YouTube~
VIKING | POLYSIX | PREDATOR | ANTIDOTE | PULSAR | CV SUITE
  #2  
Old 2012-12-23, 08:11
scifunk's Avatar
scifunk scifunk is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 928
Why not run ALL your PC sounds through the external soundcard and have no issues?
__________________
Scientific Funk & Cactus Jack - deep house, tech-house and techno
  #3  
Old 2012-12-23, 11:20
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
Or connect the line out of your onboard sound to a line in on your external audio interface.
  #4  
Old 2012-12-23, 13:35
alternating.bit's Avatar
alternating.bit alternating.bit is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 599
Those are good ideas, but my Scarlett uses USB and I'm low on USB ports and only plug it in when I'm working on music.

And this still doesn't answer my question about the speakers! lol
__________________
~alternatingbitmusic on YouTube~
VIKING | POLYSIX | PREDATOR | ANTIDOTE | PULSAR | CV SUITE
  #5  
Old 2012-12-23, 13:41
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
I don't think they will be designed to have both inputs driven at the same time hence my recommendation above
  #6  
Old 2012-12-23, 13:54
alternating.bit's Avatar
alternating.bit alternating.bit is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 599
Ok, man, thanks. Strange how I never thought of that combo - but its a really good idea. I'll give it a shot.
__________________
~alternatingbitmusic on YouTube~
VIKING | POLYSIX | PREDATOR | ANTIDOTE | PULSAR | CV SUITE
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
studio monitors twins2001 General Forum (read only) 1 2007-04-13 11:57
Studio monitors and volume control? DarkstaR84 General Forum (read only) 4 2006-02-14 03:08
If youre in need of a great pair of active studio monitors.. rpugwash General Forum (read only) 0 2005-03-31 09:26
FOR SALE! - Mackie HR624x2 Precision Studio Monitors..525GBP rpugwash General Forum (read only) 2 2005-03-15 20:03
Best Studio Monitors (KRK vs Genelec)??? smalik General Forum (read only) 11 2003-05-08 20:34


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:31.