Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-12-27, 19:27
snooz's Avatar
snooz snooz is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 57
Best Spectrum Analyser ?

Yes i know ! there is a combinator patch to have a spectrum analyser using the vocoder

but i would like a stand alone vst that could work good with reason ! reason does not support vst ! but i hope that the signal could be taped from the sound card !!

anny suggestion of a practical tool that would do the job ?
tired of scrolling up to see what difference i just did whit the adjustements !
  #2  
Old 2012-12-27, 20:12
selig's Avatar
selig selig is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by snooz View Post
Yes i know ! there is a combinator patch to have a spectrum analyser using the vocoder

but i would like a stand alone vst that could work good with reason ! reason does not support vst ! but i hope that the signal could be taped from the sound card !!

anny suggestion of a practical tool that would do the job ?
tired of scrolling up to see what difference i just did whit the adjustements !
I use Signal Scope (Mac) for technical stuff requiring spectral analysis.

Not sure what to tell you about scrolling, since you can put the vocoder/analyzer anywhere in the rack you like!
Plus, an external analyzer will not 'float' on top of Reason, you'll still have to switch pages to see it (unless you have a huge monitor or multiple monitors). :-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
  #3  
Old 2012-12-29, 17:35
snooz's Avatar
snooz snooz is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by selig View Post
I use Signal Scope (Mac) for technical stuff requiring spectral analysis.

Not sure what to tell you about scrolling, since you can put the vocoder/analyzer anywhere in the rack you like!
Plus, an external analyzer will not 'float' on top of Reason, you'll still have to switch pages to see it (unless you have a huge monitor or multiple monitors). :-)
Great thank you ! yeah i realized that i could move the spectrum analyzer !but i wanted a more precise tool i guess ! but im getting use to it ! ill stick with the vocoder !thank you
  #4  
Old 2012-12-29, 19:38
Bonkhead's Avatar
Bonkhead Bonkhead is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,747
behringer dsp 8024, over 12 years now.
  #5  
Old 2012-12-30, 10:02
slevin slevin is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 264
If your on a mac you can purchase a license for Audio Hijack Pro which come with a built in VST/AU stand alone host system. Load up your favorite Frequency analyzer and "hijack" your Reason audio stream. Works like a charm and the response is realtime, unlike other tools like soundflower.
  #7  
Old 2012-12-30, 16:43
Bonkhead's Avatar
Bonkhead Bonkhead is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,747
When rewiring you limit Reason to the use of just one core .... so even your hexa-/octacore system will get in trouble with big cpu heavy projects.
  #8  
Old 2012-12-30, 17:43
snooz's Avatar
snooz snooz is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 57
yeah exacly! i only have a Quad PC ! so ill stick to reason and that combinator patch ! im getting use to it already ! thank you all !
  #9  
Old 2012-12-30, 17:49
alternating.bit's Avatar
alternating.bit alternating.bit is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 599
You would think that with all of the slightly redundant RE's released lately someone would make a really cool looking Analyzer.
__________________
~alternatingbitmusic on YouTube~
VIKING | POLYSIX | PREDATOR | ANTIDOTE | PULSAR | CV SUITE
  #10  
Old 2012-12-30, 22:36
djjams's Avatar
djjams djjams is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 509
Someone would most likely do this if the SDK would allow for direct graphic rendering to a buffer for visualisation. From what I've read here the SDK can only display different predefined bitmaps and there is an individual bitmap for each position of a knob or each state of a LED.
So right now only a coarse spectrum analyser would be possible... oh wonder, we already got one of those in the BV512.

p.s.: Also you can just use Friture listening on your stereomix from your sondcard.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
spectrum analyser benhamilton Phead User Forum (read only) 2 2011-09-08 12:23


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:56.