Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2013-01-01, 00:51
ifonline ifonline is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
New Balance and Nothing But Problems (No Sound, Blinking Lights)

I have Reason 6.5 installed on my iMac and the serial number for Reason is listed on my Propellerhead account. I connected my brand new Balance (that was delivered today) to my iMac and downloaded my Reason license key to the device. So far, so good.

At least, that's what I thought. However, the first thing I noticed was that the ready lights on the Balance were blinking back and forth. So, even though the license key loaded to the Balance just fine, OS X and Reason weren't recognizing the Balance.

I restarted my iMac and noticed that the Balance wasn't even active at all (no blinking lights, no response to buttons, etc.). I unplugged the USB cable and re-connected the Balance to the iMac, and everything started working. OS X recognized the Balance, and audio was flowing in and out of the device. Reason recognized the device and everything worked.

Again... or so I thought. I then noticed that when I pressed the Meter/Tuner button on the Balance, the meter window in Reason would appear and then immediately disappear. So, I turned off the iMac and rebooted it. At that point, I noticed that the Balance was back to a state where no lights were on and nothing was working. No audio was flowing, and button presses did nothing.

So... I paid $600 for this hardware/Reason combo direct from Propellerhead, wait a week for it to arrive, and this is what I get? Hardware that doesn't work? I convinced my wife that it was a good idea to move away from Logic Pro and into Reason, and she reluctantly agreed. Now, I look like a fool.

So... now I have a non-working device and no one around to help me. I tried calling Line 6, but they don't even recognize Balance (or Propellerhead) as a support option. Now what? What do I do now?
__________________
Ian

Last edited by ifonline; 2013-01-01 at 02:04.
  #2  
Old 2013-01-01, 01:08
sonicnurse's Avatar
sonicnurse sonicnurse is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,326
There's this support button on this very page! Try that!
  #3  
Old 2013-01-01, 01:14
electricfusion's Avatar
electricfusion electricfusion is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,487
Please add the specs of your iMac including OS version.
You can reach PH support via email here https://www.propellerheads.se/support_area/

I don´t have Balance but i noticed that my Ignition Key sometimes doesn´t work on one of my USB ports
thus you might want to try a different USB port.

Via forum search function ( up top - grey bar ) you can check out other threads which might include the solution for your problem.
__________________
I reject your reality and substitute my own!

http://soundcloud.com/electricfusion
  #4  
Old 2013-01-01, 01:42
ifonline ifonline is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by electricfusion View Post
Please add the specs of your iMac including OS version.
iMac 2.5 i5 with 16 GB RAM and OS X 10.8.2

Quote:
You can reach PH support via email here https://www.propellerheads.se/support_area/
I've done that. Actually, I tried calling Line 6, but they didn't even give the option for Balance/Propellerhead support. Tried to get through anyway and was told they were closed. So, I then sent an e-mail to Propellerhead support. Just waiting for a response which looks like it won't be until Wednesday at the earliest. I only posted here to see if anyone had any interim suggestions.

Quote:
I don´t have Balance but i noticed that my Ignition Key sometimes doesn´t work on one of my USB ports thus you might want to try a different USB port.
Will do.

Quote:
Via forum search function ( up top - grey bar ) you can check out other threads which might include the solution for your problem.
Did that too. Didn't find anything that looked like it would help. Most threads just ended up with "contact support."

Thanks for the help and suggestions. Any idea where the Balance manual is hidden? I can't find that either.
__________________
Ian
  #5  
Old 2013-01-01, 01:43
SteveDiverse's Avatar
SteveDiverse SteveDiverse is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3,613
I don't have MAC or Balance, so I'm not sure how much help I can/will be...

...but try disconnecting balance, rebooting, starting reason, and in edit >> preferences, set the audio to the built in audio - then close reason.

plug in balance, start reason, then select balance as the audio interface.

my audio interface sometimes gives me issues if it is plugged in when I start up my computer - so I always unplug it when done and plug it in after the computer is fully booted up.
__________________

HP Pavillion DV7T-3300 Laptop | i7 Q720 @ 1.6 GHz | 4GB RAM | Win7 Pro 64-bit
m-audio Axiom Pro 61 keyboard controller || iPad2 | RetouchControl DUO | TouchOSC | LoopBe30 MIDI
m-audio Mobile Pre USB (original) audio interface | ASIO4ALL || RØDE NT-3 mic
Reason 6.5.3 || Pulsar | Saturation Knob | Rough Rider | TSAR-1 | Uhbik-A | Re-Tron | Polar | Echobode | Uhbik Q | Uhbik F | Morfin XF | Uhbik S | Uhbik D | Uhbik G | CV Suite Line Processor | wbl5515 | Uhbik P | RE-2A | Radical Piano
  #6  
Old 2013-01-03, 15:29
rVOLT's Avatar
rVOLT rVOLT is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by electricfusion View Post
Please add the specs of your iMac including OS version.
You can reach PH support via email here https://www.propellerheads.se/support_area/

I don´t have Balance but i noticed that my Ignition Key sometimes doesn´t work on one of my USB ports
thus you might want to try a different USB port.

Via forum search function ( up top - grey bar ) you can check out other threads which might include the solution for your problem.
Yeah. I have to replug mine 1/3 times due to failure to recognize...
__________________
http://www.soundcloud.com/rvolt
  #7  
Old 2013-01-03, 16:59
jengstrom jengstrom is offline
Propellerhead
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 929
ifonline: I have found your support ticket, it was in the queue, minutes from being dispatched. I will handle your support case, and report the findings and/or solutions in this thread.

rvolt: Please send us a support e-mail describing the issue you are experiencing. Do you also have a new iMac? Good to know it is intermittent for you, happening 1/3 of the time and not always.

We don't have an open case about Balance stopping on machine reboot. Your two reports are the only ones so far.

I have seen a similar issue on MacBooks before, but in that case it was because the computer model provided too little power in some of its USB ports.

Balance blinks the lights that way only in two cases:

1. When the port provides too little power for some functions
2. When the port is USB 1.1/1.0 only

If Balance really shuts down every time you boot that machine, there are three possibilities:

1. Balance device broken or damaged.

2. Computer broken or damaged.

A test on another Mac or Windows-box would be help determine if the cause is in the computer or the device.

3. Flaw or bug in computer model or firmware. Also unlikely but worth looking into. Confirmed only if the same happens on another system of the same model.

If it's 3. you have found a variant of iMac we have not tested yet, which has some USB quirk.

I don't have an iMac like yours here, but I have a Mac Mini of the same age with Intel i5 2.5 GHz and OSX 10.8.2, which works fine with Balance through reboots and cold starts.
  #8  
Old 2013-01-03, 17:12
ifonline ifonline is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jengstrom View Post
ifonline: I have found your support ticket, it was in the queue, minutes from being dispatched. I will handle your support case, and report the findings and/or solutions in this thread.
Perfect. Thanks for the follow-up.

Quote:
We don't have an open case about Balance stopping on machine reboot. Your two reports are the only ones so far.

I have seen a similar issue on MacBooks before, but in that case it was because the computer model provided too little power in some of its USB ports.

Balance blinks the lights that way only in two cases:

1. When the port provides too little power for some functions
2. When the port is USB 1.1/1.0 only
I wonder if there is too little power and/or a broken Balance. Definitely not an issue of USB 1.0/1.1 only as all four ports on the iMac are USB 2.

Quote:
If Balance really shuts down every time you boot that machine, there are three possibilities:

1. Balance device broken or damaged.

2. Computer broken or damaged.

A test on another Mac or Windows-box would be help determine if the cause is in the computer or the device.
I will try hooking up to another iMac to see what happens.

Quote:
3. Flaw or bug in computer model or firmware. Also unlikely but worth looking into. Confirmed only if the same happens on another system of the same model.
The other iMac I have is an identical copy of the one I use specifically for music, and so I will try connecting the Balance to this one to see what happens.

Quote:
If it's 3. you have found a variant of iMac we have not tested yet, which has some USB quirk.

I don't have an iMac like yours here, but I have a Mac Mini of the same age with Intel i5 2.5 GHz and OSX 10.8.2, which works fine with Balance through reboots and cold starts.
Interesting. I wonder if a powered USB hub would help? If so, I would want to find one that shuts off when the iMac shuts off. Hm...
__________________
Ian
  #9  
Old 2013-01-01, 01:44
OMOMs's Avatar
OMOMs OMOMs is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,028
did you install Essentials? I believe when I first got mine the setup card said I had to install Essentials first, so the correct drivers are installed.
then are you using a USB 3 port?
apparently there are some problems with USB 3 on OSX, so you'd be better off using USB 2.
__________________
cheers!
fredhoven
  #10  
Old 2013-01-01, 01:49
ifonline ifonline is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveDiverse View Post
...but try disconnecting balance, rebooting, starting reason, and in edit >> preferences, set the audio to the built in audio - then close reason.

plug in balance, start reason, then select balance as the audio interface.

my audio interface sometimes gives me issues if it is plugged in when I start up my computer - so I always unplug it when done and plug it in after the computer is fully booted up.
If I unplug Balance and plug it back in, it works for the current session. Once I turn off the computer and turn it back on, however, Balance is disconnected as an audio device. Interestingly, even when the Balance doesn't show up as an audio device, the Propellerhead website can see it and shows me the license installed on it. Plus, Reason 6.5 starts and it authorized without issue. Of course, no Balance audio in Reason. Very odd.

Quote:
Originally Posted by OMOMs View Post
did you install Essentials? I believe when I first got mine the setup card said I had to install Essentials first, so the correct drivers are installed.
then are you using a USB 3 port?
apparently there are some problems with USB 3 on OSX, so you'd be better off using USB 2.
No drivers needed for a Mac. And no, I am using a USB 2 port. No USB 3 ports on the Mac at all.
__________________
Ian
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:55.