Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-01-06, 22:24
zetlike zetlike is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 14
Lack of memory?

hello guys.
used the Reason5 to play live with my covers band, I have about 60 songs / projects in all, a normally opened only once about 20 or 30 songs, then the remaining songs.

the computer is an apple macbook pro 2.4 ghz intel core 2 duo 4gb 1067 mhz memory DD3 OS X 10.6.8, currently with Reason 6.2 can no longer simultaneously open the same projects / songs and whenever I try to open up the 10 songs, I notice that computer is with latency visual, my interface is a USB M-Audio fast track pro 1.8 drivers version, opening up of the 15 songs the latency is generally even opening a dialog with the information that the computer is slow.
my problem is that I need not waste time loading songs constantly ...
if someone can help me, what I need to do to solve this big problem?
expand the computer to 8gb ram say this will improve performance and let me upload more songs?

Thanks, and respect!!!

Last edited by zetlike; 2013-01-07 at 00:57.
  #2  
Old 2013-01-06, 23:23
pushedbutton's Avatar
pushedbutton pushedbutton is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5,579
In a nutshell, Yes. More Ram will help.
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
This Is My Song
@pushedbutton on twitter
I live in Lancashire, England.
  #3  
Old 2013-01-07, 07:56
RXTX's Avatar
RXTX RXTX is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 562
Load all your songs, and check the Activity Monitor to see just how much RAM and CPU Reason is using at its peak, and how much free RAM remains. If Reason indeed eats up most of your RAM, buy more. If there's still tons of free RAM remaining, it's a CPU issue.
  #4  
Old 2013-01-07, 09:45
gwynebiau's Avatar
gwynebiau gwynebiau is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,360
Also, on the same screen, look at "Swap used". If it's swapping it means that there was too much to fit into the physical RAM you have, so it had to start using the hard drive as extra RAM, and the hard drive is *very* slow compared to RAM so performance can be hurt significantly if there's a lot of swap use.
  #5  
Old 2013-01-07, 23:09
zetlike zetlike is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 14
ohhhhhh...ok thanks alot guys for your replys..i will check it out!
im not too genious in computer managements...hehehehehe!
  #6  
Old 2013-01-08, 15:52
RasCricket RasCricket is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,237
Your best bet could be to keep using Reason 5 live - I still use Reason 5 live instead 6.

Too many issues with Reason 6 in a live setting from issues like youre talking about to online internet verification/taking your dongle out, etc.

Reason 5 was perfect for such a thing.

It would be a GREAT test to everyone here, to see what in fact that extra RAM does for you in regards to using a legacy file with a program = We'd see exactly how much more Reason 6 is demanding apart from Reason 5 to open the same file. Id be highly interested to see that myself.
__________________
My Player on Reverbnation - 35 Tunes - Original & Classic Reggae/Dub Productions: http://www.reverbnation.com/rascricket

Last edited by RasCricket; 2013-01-08 at 16:11.
  #7  
Old 2013-01-11, 21:41
slevin slevin is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 264
More RAM will definitely help but an Intel Core2Duo is NOT an optimized machine for running Reason. You may want to start thinking about a CPU upgrade.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacBook Pro/Desktop Requirement Question(s) The Shade Phead User Forum (read only) 27 2012-09-30 16:44
No doubt about it. There is a memory problem with v6.5.1 McMichael Phead User Forum (read only) 7 2012-07-21 22:21
I've found a fix to the DSP low memory message issue DraonKnight84 General Forum (read only) 0 2011-10-24 11:02
Dual processors and Reason waynec Phead User Forum (read only) 3 2004-07-26 19:59


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:01.