Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-01-10, 18:45
Csw91's Avatar
Csw91 Csw91 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 565
Exclamation Fix Flower Loudness meter please...

At first it worked just fine, but when I created a mastering combi to sort out my sounds, making it more crystal clear, the loudness meter went completely berserk on the signal, and made my monitors scream insanely loud for no reason at all.

I had to direct the mastering combi to the master out, and therefore I had to route the loudness meter somewere else to make it work. I had the master volume turned down, due to my speaker being weird and they doesn't sync to each-other unless I use RCA cables, which I don't. Currently using XLR, and I'm forced to turn down up or down on the speakers, OR in the master volume in Reason.

I tried to connect the Flower meter to the control output in the master section, and it worked fined if I had put the master volume to like -30db, which is almost nothing, but when I got close to about -9db on the master volume, then my monitors went absolutely mad and I had to quickly turn down the volume in fear of they would blow to the "squeal" sound they made.... After that I tried to remove the meter completely after a few failed attempt to connect the meter in other ways, and after it got removed, everything worked perfectly again!
__________________
Apparently I feel useless when sitting in front of Reason, but when I'm sitting with others, my creativity are endless!

Could use a Reason mentor.

The gear I use for production:

Balance.
ADAM A7X monitors
Nektar Panorama P4
Shure SRH 940 studio headphones.

I do not own that many RE's since I believe that everything I need, are already inside Reason.

Last edited by Csw91; 2013-01-10 at 18:52.
  #2  
Old 2013-01-10, 18:58
TheFatControlleR's Avatar
TheFatControlleR TheFatControlleR is online now
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,392
Question

Does Master Section (Master Out) > Master Inserts/Combi (if present) > Flower Audio Loudness Meter > Audio I/O cause issues? Loudness Meter being the last element in the chain prior to Hardware interface.
__________________
Total numpty doin' his own thing for the craic and relaxation - it's cheaper than a therapist, and more satisfying.
You've heard of The Hit Factory, well, welcome to the Sh!t Factory
~|~
'Going to trial with a lawyer who considers your whole life-style a crime in progress is not a happy prospect.' - Hunter S Thompson
~|~
'Live fat, die young, and leave a self-basting corpse for the burn up...' - TFC
  #3  
Old 2013-01-10, 19:07
PsyTale's Avatar
PsyTale PsyTale is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 801
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFatControlleR View Post
Does Master Section (Master Out) > Master Inserts/Combi (if present) > Flower Audio Loudness Meter > Audio I/O cause issues? Loudness Meter being the last element in the chain prior to Hardware interface.
Thats how i use it, no probs here.
  #4  
Old 2013-01-10, 19:07
Csw91's Avatar
Csw91 Csw91 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 565
Didn't Use the mastering combi as an insert, since a Reason teacher (Currently taking an advanced course) said that the (master out) section should be routed to the (combi input [3Band compression]) And the (Combi input) goes to the Audio l/O.

So I tried to route the Flower meter from the (meter input) to (Master ctrl room out) to well, a wrong plug hole, which were either FX Send or Return.

I just tried to Route the meter from (Master ctrl room out) to l/O 2 and it reacts, even though the l/O tells me it is off. It seem to work now?!
__________________
Apparently I feel useless when sitting in front of Reason, but when I'm sitting with others, my creativity are endless!

Could use a Reason mentor.

The gear I use for production:

Balance.
ADAM A7X monitors
Nektar Panorama P4
Shure SRH 940 studio headphones.

I do not own that many RE's since I believe that everything I need, are already inside Reason.
  #5  
Old 2013-01-11, 19:09
djfm1983's Avatar
djfm1983 djfm1983 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 952
You got something wired up wrong dude.... I have my loudness meter wired up as the last thing in my signal chain and have never had any issues. The loudness meter doesn't even generate any sounds, have you ever thought that it might be your mastering chain?
  #6  
Old 2013-01-12, 00:32
Dave909's Avatar
Dave909 Dave909 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,411
Quote:
Originally Posted by Csw91 View Post
since a Reason teacher (Currently taking an advanced course)
Sorry to light that up but shouldn't a "teacher" take that "advanced" course before calling himself a "teacher"? Just thinking out loud there. For the rest: What DJPhathead said. The device doesn't generate or alter any sounds. It just measures them.
__________________
Check out Dave909
  #7  
Old 2013-01-12, 00:43
djfm1983's Avatar
djfm1983 djfm1983 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 952
Csw91 if you need help wiring things up we could set up a time where I could show you how to wire things up live on my livestream channel www.livestream.com/djfm1983 .
  #8  
Old 2013-01-16, 18:42
Csw91's Avatar
Csw91 Csw91 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 565
That would be great! I'm an idiot when it comes to all the wiring stuff....

It would open a new world for me, when It comes to wiring instruments together and make sort of new instruments "ish"

Sure I did learn a bit from the course, but I do not really feel it were advanced enough to my expectations.
__________________
Apparently I feel useless when sitting in front of Reason, but when I'm sitting with others, my creativity are endless!

Could use a Reason mentor.

The gear I use for production:

Balance.
ADAM A7X monitors
Nektar Panorama P4
Shure SRH 940 studio headphones.

I do not own that many RE's since I believe that everything I need, are already inside Reason.

Last edited by Csw91; 2013-01-16 at 18:46.
  #9  
Old 2013-01-21, 19:03
TheFatControlleR's Avatar
TheFatControlleR TheFatControlleR is online now
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,392
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFatControlleR - Post #2 View Post
Master Section (Master Out) > Master Inserts/Combi (if present) > Flower Audio Loudness Meter > Audio I/O cause issues? Loudness Meter being the last element in the chain prior to Hardware interface.
..........
__________________
Total numpty doin' his own thing for the craic and relaxation - it's cheaper than a therapist, and more satisfying.
You've heard of The Hit Factory, well, welcome to the Sh!t Factory
~|~
'Going to trial with a lawyer who considers your whole life-style a crime in progress is not a happy prospect.' - Hunter S Thompson
~|~
'Live fat, die young, and leave a self-basting corpse for the burn up...' - TFC
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flower Audio Loudness Meter and the K-System sm5574 Phead User Forum (read only) 4 2013-01-04 03:08
Flower audio loudness meter - very useful tool! JensenTNI Phead User Forum (read only) 6 2012-10-15 18:05
Flower Audio Loudness Meter / Perceived Loudness Question mbain Phead User Forum (read only) 11 2012-09-05 05:59
Flower Audio Loudness Meter - Device Error mbain Phead User Forum (read only) 2 2012-08-30 13:28
Flower Audio - EXCELLENT customer service! (and tips on using the Loudness Meter) Pat303 General Forum (read only) 1 2012-08-14 13:57


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:03.