Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-01-13, 20:20
schnauser
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Reason 6 vs. Logic

Hi, newbie question (planning on putting together a new studio setup around Reason/Logic on a Mac): If Reason now has audio recording, do I even need Logic or any other recording software? Does Reason 6 have plugs for mixing? Does it have a good waveform editor? What is missing from Reason that I would still need protools or Logic etc? thanks.
  #2  
Old 2013-01-13, 20:39
SteveDiverse's Avatar
SteveDiverse SteveDiverse is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by schnauser View Post
Does Reason 6 have plugs for mixing?
Reason's answers to plugs is Rack Extensions. Here's where you can find what's available: http://shop.propellerheads.se/browse/

Not sure exactly what you're looking for when you say "plugs for mixing"...but...there are several effects devices built into reason and several rack extensions effects that are ideal for mixing.

Also, if you want to test drive Reason, the demo is a full version that lets you do everything EXCEPT: you cannot open saved files, you cannot export audio, and you cannot access rack extensions

You can get the demo here: http://www.propellerheads.se/download/reason/

Once you purchase Reason, you can access the Rack Extensions - for each rack extension, you are allowed one 30-day free trial.
__________________

HP Pavillion DV7T-3300 Laptop | i7 Q720 @ 1.6 GHz | 4GB RAM | Win7 Pro 64-bit
m-audio Axiom Pro 61 keyboard controller || iPad2 | RetouchControl DUO | TouchOSC | LoopBe30 MIDI
m-audio Mobile Pre USB (original) audio interface | ASIO4ALL || RĂ˜DE NT-3 mic
Reason 6.5.3 || Pulsar | Saturation Knob | Rough Rider | TSAR-1 | Uhbik-A | Re-Tron | Polar | Echobode | Uhbik Q | Uhbik F | Morfin XF | Uhbik S | Uhbik D | Uhbik G | CV Suite Line Processor | wbl5515 | Uhbik P | RE-2A | Radical Piano

Last edited by SteveDiverse; 2013-01-13 at 20:42.
  #3  
Old 2013-01-13, 21:40
brickdog's Avatar
brickdog brickdog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 63
For 200 bucks Logic Pro is an excellent choice. Huge sound library and excellent pedal board effects.
I have been a Reason User from day one - rewiring the 2 daws together, if your computer is fast enough, is brilliant.
  #4  
Old 2013-01-13, 22:58
Whagi Whagi is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 100
I use both, both are superb. But I tend to rewire Reason into Logic and use Logic as my main DAW for sequencing, mixing and mastering. Plus it has a massive set of plugins also. If you can get both, do!
__________________
Latest Music >>
Latest Photos >>
  #5  
Old 2013-01-14, 01:22
schnauser
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
thanks for the quick answers, I am astounded at how cheap Logic is. Sounds like both environments are great, but all the content/instruments make it worthwhile to have both.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good bye Logic, Hello (again) Reason! pedrokraft General Forum (read only) 28 2011-10-11 16:05
problem with reason rewired to logic: reason freezes novatron Phead User Forum (read only) 2 2003-12-30 03:04
Reason & Logic Platinum syn problem, need help Tszpun General Forum (read only) 0 2003-12-23 11:36
Reason / DP / OMS Test Results Within... arothman General Forum (read only) 2 2003-03-05 03:26


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:23.