Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-01-15, 15:36
dacess123 dacess123 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 252
Scream Oversampling

Hi Props

Any chance of fitting Scream with an oversampling button on the next version?

Thanks in advance ;-)
__________________
Check out the links below to hear Music I've made using Reason!

http://www.patrickjay.co.uk/
http://soundcloud.com/search?q%5Bfulltext%5D=patrickjay
  #2  
Old 2013-01-18, 00:14
qwan qwan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 136
what would oversampling do? I guess I could google it, but I am too lazy...
  #3  
Old 2013-01-18, 12:38
dacess123 dacess123 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 252
Try this, start a new project and set your audio preferences sample rate to 44100 Hz. Create a simple synth pad patch (or whatever you like, but something which has a wide freq range) then add a scream unit at the end of the chain and play about with it for a while. Now, change your sample rate to 88200 Hz and play the same sound... Hear the difference? In my opinion the distortion sounds more pleasant in 88200. Try tweaking the settings and trying different algorithms...

I believe oversampling doubles/quadruples the sample rate inside that particular unit, so I'm hoping that if oversampling could be added to Scream, the output would come out sounding more like the 88200 Hz version.
__________________
Check out the links below to hear Music I've made using Reason!

http://www.patrickjay.co.uk/
http://soundcloud.com/search?q%5Bfulltext%5D=patrickjay
  #4  
Old 2013-01-18, 13:43
devilfish's Avatar
devilfish devilfish is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,074
Smile

@dacess

you bring me an idea !
thanks a lot my friend
  #5  
Old 2013-01-18, 14:52
dacess123 dacess123 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 252
@devilfish

hmmm, what idea is this then? :-)
__________________
Check out the links below to hear Music I've made using Reason!

http://www.patrickjay.co.uk/
http://soundcloud.com/search?q%5Bfulltext%5D=patrickjay
  #6  
Old 2013-01-22, 15:19
devilfish's Avatar
devilfish devilfish is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by dacess123 View Post
@devilfish

hmmm, what idea is this then? :-)
Recording with 192KHZ

and then timestrech.. and then back to 44,1KHZ

it Sounds much better as a timestrech with 44,1KHZ recorded material
  #7  
Old 2013-01-18, 22:46
qwan qwan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by dacess123 View Post
Try this, start a new project and set your audio preferences sample rate to 44100 Hz. Create a simple synth pad patch (or whatever you like, but something which has a wide freq range) then add a scream unit at the end of the chain and play about with it for a while. Now, change your sample rate to 88200 Hz and play the same sound... Hear the difference? In my opinion the distortion sounds more pleasant in 88200. Try tweaking the settings and trying different algorithms...

I believe oversampling doubles/quadruples the sample rate inside that particular unit, so I'm hoping that if oversampling could be added to Scream, the output would come out sounding more like the 88200 Hz version.
I will try this when I get home tonight, and report back
  #8  
Old 2013-01-19, 08:24
eXode's Avatar
eXode eXode is online now
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,487
Why only Scream?

I'd like to see it for all devices!
  #9  
Old 2013-01-19, 15:19
jlgrimes jlgrimes is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXode View Post
Agreed.

This actually could benefit most Reason devices ESP the synths.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scream 4 (again) nega9000 General Forum (read only) 0 2006-06-30 20:40
Bypassing Scream in Aux Rox ctreitzell General Forum (read only) 0 2003-06-24 13:43
Scream on my guitar! millionVALVE General Forum (read only) 8 2003-05-17 00:01


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:07.