Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2013-01-18, 10:12
qode qode is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Unhappy Sound probems while ASIO4ALL is active :S

Hey guys,

So yeah, the title explains it all, when I active Reason (which is using the ASIO driver) all of my other sound starts having problems, except Reason which is working perfectly. When I switch to the "DX Primary Sound Driver", all of my sound is working, only Reason can't record any input... Can I make sure that Reason and all my other sound just work together?

Thanks in advance!

- Ryan "Qode" Wilmes
  #2  
Old 2013-01-18, 14:53
VOLCANIC's Avatar
VOLCANIC VOLCANIC is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 115
well reason work quiet nicely with DX primary sound driver. i had the same problem but i ended up using CUBASE with ASIO4ALL. this will allow you to open as many DAWS as you like with different sound driver. the only time you can use ASIO4ALL for all DAWS at the same time is when you have SOUND CARD like LEXICON and the others but still i prefer primary sound driver for reason then others ASIO
  #3  
Old 2013-01-18, 15:45
qode qode is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
o ok thanks for the tip

Allthough, im not using another DAW, i was just talking about normal standard sound. Like, when Reason is using the ASIO4ALL driver, soundcloud stops working, and YouTube has no sound, i cant play MP3's or edit WAVs in my editor...
  #4  
Old 2013-01-18, 16:13
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
Perhaps there is a setting in ASIO4ALL to allow none-exclusive access as long as you are aware of the issues? ASIO usually requires exclusive access, see http://bit.ly/VbtziO

Last edited by n0ahg; 2013-01-18 at 16:28.
  #5  
Old 2013-01-18, 16:18
qode qode is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Ill check it out, thanks
  #6  
Old 2013-01-18, 16:24
jengstrom jengstrom is offline
Propellerhead
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 931
ASIO4ALL opens your sound card the same way as Reason does when it uses DX drivers, but in full duplex (input and output in sync).

Maybe your audio card and/or audio driver has trouble working in full duplex generally.

If not generally, then maybe it has trouble with the specific ASIO4ALL settings set in the ASIO4ALL control panel. Try increasing the buffer size, etc.
  #7  
Old 2013-01-18, 21:40
THC7 THC7 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 9
If you only have one sound device then there's no way around the problem with ASIO4ALL. Once ASIO4ALL becomes active it 'hogs' the sound device used by your DAW / Reason and prevents any other application from accessing it.

I have an onboard sound chip which I use for normal system sounds and applications and another sound card used exclusively for Reason / ASIO4ALL.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is the "Reason sound" gone? BoddAH General Forum (read only) 48 2012-07-14 19:10
Asio4all - no sound wwwdm Phead User Forum (read only) 8 2009-09-18 22:05
Dr.REX sound BUG ? No newbie stuff ;) For mad users only ;) kmonkey22 General Forum (read only) 2 2004-10-12 01:50
Even more on the Reason's Sound Quality thingy iloyd General Forum (read only) 15 2003-10-03 01:12
Sound quality, how to make reason sound better tip neoverse General Forum (read only) 16 2002-10-19 02:28


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:26.