Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-02-04, 06:35
parachutes parachutes is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 35
Adding filter to master...?

i working on this song of mine and i put on an envelope filter on the master. I did this because i wanted every instrument in my song to be filtered for one specific part. However, I want to have one instrument track not affected by the master filter when it is on. How do i do that?

I just want a single piano sound not affected by the filter while everything else is affected by it. Does that make sense?
All help appreciated
  #2  
Old 2013-02-04, 07:09
reasoner498's Avatar
reasoner498 reasoner498 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 836
Take a look at page 385 (R6) or 391 (R6.5) of the manual on how to create a sub-mixer.

You can have your filter as an insert effect on the "filtered" sub-mix, and your piano can be clean.
  #3  
Old 2013-02-04, 07:36
parachutes parachutes is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 35
two things:
I'm assuming your talking about the 'help viewer' (6.5) in which although there are many topics, i dont know how to search for your page number.

and wouldnt that mean i must route every track to a channel in the mixer? thats over 30 tracks which i would rather not do

Is there a way to do this with send effects in the main mixer?
  #4  
Old 2013-02-04, 09:05
reasoner498's Avatar
reasoner498 reasoner498 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 836
Quote:
Originally Posted by parachutes View Post
two things:
I'm assuming your talking about the 'help viewer' (6.5) in which although there are many topics, i dont know how to search for your page number.

and wouldnt that mean i must route every track to a channel in the mixer? thats over 30 tracks which i would rather not do

Is there a way to do this with send effects in the main mixer?
The page numbers refer to the pdf manual installed in the Reason folder.

You could also put a Spider audio splitter or 6:2 mixer between the master out and the hardware interface.

Run the mater out into one channel, and the direct out of the piano mix channel into another, and the stereo out to the hardware interface.

Last edited by reasoner498; 2013-02-04 at 09:08.
  #5  
Old 2013-02-04, 09:58
Benedict's Avatar
Benedict Benedict is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,929
This answers it for you. Swap Phaser for Filter and you are exactly who I wrote this article for.

http://benedictroffmarsh.com/2013/01...erhead-reason/

__________________
Benedict Roff-Marsh
- - - - - - - - - -
Music: Bandcamp
ReFills: OSC + Filter - Super Mono-Synth

Last edited by Benedict; 2013-02-08 at 10:37.
  #6  
Old 2013-02-04, 11:06
electricfusion's Avatar
electricfusion electricfusion is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,489
There´s another way.
Set the a loop to the section which should be filtered.
Mute the e.g piano.
Bounce loop to new track (via the menu)
Mute the midi channels in the loop.
Filter the audio track.
All done w/o creating sub mixes and so forth.
Note: finish your mix beforehand otherwise you´ve to redo the whole thing.
__________________
I reject your reality and substitute my own!

http://soundcloud.com/electricfusion
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
eq before or after compression? (also what's on your master) papercrane Phead User Forum (read only) 18 2011-07-21 00:24
Filter Research - New Effects Refill Released! JeremyNSL Phead User Forum (read only) 69 2008-11-23 21:46
Filter Research - New Effects Refill! JeremyNSL General Forum (read only) 4 2008-08-05 18:38


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:00.