Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-02-08, 21:27
inmatus inmatus is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 69
The maximizer?

Been a bit suprized that the maximizer so easily results in distorsion..
Used to wavelabs that dont..

I know that if you have the "wrong" mix with peaks and to little of filtering get you a bad sound.. But still.. If you put a limiter on in the end and raise the volume it shouldnt end up in distorsion. Actually I skipped the mastering in reason and took a "friendly" wav to wavelab for the loudness with punch, compressor and limiting since it too often sounds ok in reason but when listening onthe wav you hear distorsion. Yeah.. 4ms look ahead, fast and fast + 0.0 db output gain on the maximizer is set. Sound looks Ok in reason but wav result have distorsion. IMO that is crap.

You should handle the mix OK to get levels and all right and use limiters in a "wise way" but still.. even if you dont you shouldnt get distorsion. Pumping, bad sound.. OK.. thats fair. Distorsion? No..

But that is what you get far to easy IMO.

For me it seems like a bug.

Ozone works fine
  #2  
Old 2013-02-08, 22:56
djfm1983's Avatar
djfm1983 djfm1983 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Most of the time with any compressors or limiters when you use fastest attack/release times you will get distortion. Even with the FET which is based off a real device gets a small amount of distortion with fast times. How do you have the attack/release times on your maximizer in wave lab?
  #3  
Old 2013-02-08, 23:11
inmatus inmatus is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 69
When I use wavelab I just use multi leveler and at some time puncher. There is no attack/release setting. Just puts up the level.
Its not a small amount of distorsion when using the maximizer in reason. It is really cracking. To me it seems that the maximizer dont keep it at 0 db but let peaks through
  #4  
Old 2013-02-08, 23:41
odarmonix's Avatar
odarmonix odarmonix is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 573
With the settings you described the M Maximizer should NOT let peaks hit the 0 dB ceiling, I know for sure it doesn't on my side.

Are you using the maximizer as an insert effect in the master section ? if yes, make sure the master fader is set to 0 dB or below. The master fader always acts after the insert effect, so pushing it above 0 dB will inevitably cancel out any brickwall limiting you applied.

Another possible cause could be soft clipping simply being turned on, it can introduce audible clipping with high knob values and it's normally unnecessary with look-ahead activated + fast attack.
__________________
SoundCloud
Bandcamp
  #5  
Old 2013-02-08, 23:42
nickb523's Avatar
nickb523 nickb523 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 140
The maximizer will only go over if the soft clip is disabled. Make sure you enable the soft clip and there shouldn't be any digital distortion.
__________________
My Music
  #6  
Old 2013-02-09, 01:00
djfm1983's Avatar
djfm1983 djfm1983 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Try changing the attack/release settings. A fast attack/release will almost always introduce distortion. Also what rms level do you have after you use the maximizer?
  #7  
Old 2013-02-09, 09:59
Djjimmyc's Avatar
Djjimmyc Djjimmyc is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 756
How much gain reduction you getting too?
__________________
SLICE OF DNB

Loading SoundCloud…
  #8  
Old 2013-02-10, 00:06
inmatus inmatus is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 69
Looking a bit more in to it.. It doesnt go over 0 DB but end result is distortion..
Got the Ozone limiter in the rack now and it works very good.

The song is not an easy piece to limit maybe, Reason drum kit (sampled live drums), 3-4 fuzz guitars.. etc. A bit mid freq crowded and hard to mix and I am looking for "rough" high loudness sound (ex-punker)

Maximizer seems to have a hard time to handle it but ozone.. no problemo
  #9  
Old 2013-02-10, 21:01
djfm1983's Avatar
djfm1983 djfm1983 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
You still need to give us more info. How much gain reduction is going on between the m-class and RE? How much dynamic range is left afterwords on both? How about final rms level?
  #10  
Old 2013-02-10, 21:35
mind2069 mind2069 is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 760
the mclass max always seemed bad to me, never used it on a mix, terrible on the high. distors easily, ozone is way better, I mean light years better.

I only use the mclass max gently limit drums, never execding 2db of reduction, I just use it as a safety clip
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Selig Tutorial: Maximizing the Maximizer selig Phead User Forum (read only) 108 2013-07-20 01:54
[COMBINATOR] MultiBand-Mid-Side Ozone Maximizer + Backdrop NaviRetlav Phead User Forum (read only) 6 2012-09-19 12:34
HELP: Clipping problems with maximizer and reason 6 mixer ffud General Forum (read only) 1 2012-02-21 17:00
SSL And Maximizer mind2069 General Forum (read only) 8 2011-03-02 17:13
MClass Maximizer: What am M doing wrong? erixandberg Phead User Forum (read only) 6 2010-02-27 03:22


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:32.