Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-02-10, 15:15
sweetbutt sweetbutt is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 53
Creating FX patches for Audio tracks

hello!

I went thru' the manual of course but I'm still missing something

the basic idea is to create FX patches (which inslude several FXs) for a given audio track

so far I've only been able to insert single FXs but to me it feels they're a cascade of single devices rather than a single patch..
my goal is to have a single FX made by several devices ..
Thing is I need to create a unique processing sound as I used to do with Live ... and now that I'm really fascinated by Reason I want to do the same here ... the FXs I made with live shaped the tone of my previous release .. now that I'm working on my new album I want to shape a new "overall tone" by creating a series of FXs..
this all-in-One thing is pretty much what happens with the combinator ..but I need to use it on an audio track..
and so far I haven't been able to do it...

thanks for the inputs!
  #2  
Old 2013-02-10, 15:28
OMOMs's Avatar
OMOMs OMOMs is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,035
hey sweetbutt
just create your FX in a combinator and load it up into the Audio track.
Or simply press show insert FX on the audio track and start creating devices in the insert section.
I really recommend these!
actually the entire PropellerheadSW is crammed to the top with tutorials and how to's, and really worth checking out!
__________________
cheers!
fredhoven
  #3  
Old 2013-02-10, 16:05
sweetbutt sweetbutt is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 53
thanks Om!

I was missing those .. much appreciated

actually I already tried to do what you suggested but couldn't make it work the way I was expecting
but I'm still new to these kind of things in R and also want to make sure that what I was doing in Live is actually feasible in R ..
maybe even not .. maybe Reason "thinks" slightly differently
which would be totally ok ... leads to new things

just a quick simple question:

if I create a unique FX patch with a Combi, can I apply it to ANYthing?
might be an audio track or midi or even the master section?

for now, for what I've tried a Combi seems not to fit inside the Insert Slot of an Audio track .. if I hightlight the Insert Slot and choose to create a Combi then it appears outside of it in a separate channel (looks to me)

Last edited by sweetbutt; 2013-02-10 at 16:09.
  #4  
Old 2013-02-10, 17:15
OMOMs's Avatar
OMOMs OMOMs is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,035
yes you can apply it to anything, even the master section.
just click on 'show programmer' on the audio track, or mix channel, and click the 'open' button. then navigate to the folder you saved your combinator patch in and open it.
__________________
cheers!
fredhoven
  #5  
Old 2013-02-10, 17:51
tincture's Avatar
tincture tincture is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,819
Yeah combi's won't "fit" in the audio track insert section but you can still route to and from them even though the combi itself sits "outside" the insert section. Just connect the audio track's insert "to devices" to the combi In, then connect the combi Out to the "from devices" on the audio track.
__________________
Zac Scott
http://soundcloud.com/tincture-1
Loading SoundCloud…
Synth Rock
  #6  
Old 2013-02-10, 19:03
StormCanada StormCanada is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,826
The addition to the method mentioned above me is that if the FX are a separate combi outside your desired track, you can create a separate mix channel just for the Fx or you can wire it back into the track. Your choice when mixing.

Hit Tab and start playing around with routing. It's amazing what you can do.
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
| new reijo track - storm on lead guitar
  #7  
Old 2013-02-11, 12:46
sweetbutt sweetbutt is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 53
thanks for all your ideas

I have to learn this CV thing properly

can you point me to the best resource you have found so far

I googled it but there are tons..

the most pin-pointed, easy and effective.

if you know any of course

thanks!
  #8  
Old 2013-02-11, 12:53
tincture's Avatar
tincture tincture is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,819
None of what's been mentioned relates to CV really, talking about audio output routing. Just look at the back of the Audio Track (make sure it's unfolded) and you should see the to and from insert devices jacks... When storm mentioned taking the fx to another mix channel he mean't that the last fx device outputs could be routed to a new mix channel instead of back into the same audio channel. If you're still stuck, PM me and I'll perhaps do a screen grab of what I'm talking about.
__________________
Zac Scott
http://soundcloud.com/tincture-1
Loading SoundCloud…
Synth Rock
  #9  
Old 2013-02-11, 13:07
sweetbutt sweetbutt is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 53
oh .. it was a kind of spin-off of the topic Title

I'm ok with audio routing

it's that I feel, to create those patches I have in mind, I will have to learn about CV and those crazy routings..
  #10  
Old 2013-02-11, 13:59
tincture's Avatar
tincture tincture is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,819
Ok cool
__________________
Zac Scott
http://soundcloud.com/tincture-1
Loading SoundCloud…
Synth Rock
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Popular Plugins as Combinator Patches NoelGMusic Phead User Forum (read only) 216 2013-09-25 02:12
Creating drum patches from synths KevWestBeats Phead User Forum (read only) 12 2011-06-08 02:36
Tutorial For Creating Drum Tracks In Reason? Moldiver General Forum (read only) 1 2008-01-08 04:13
Creating my own NN-XT patches. runoffinc General Forum (read only) 6 2005-04-26 11:28


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:13.