Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2013-02-18, 10:08
hexaet hexaet is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 15
fader automation: have i missed somethinng?

i want to be able to record fader automation on the main mixer; by this i mean that a have a song with sa6 6 channel strips and i want to be able to record the action of pulling them up and down...

i know this can be done for each individual channel strip, but this is less than ideal because not only a bit hit and miss but also time consuming.

back in the old days i could do what i wanted on the 14:2 mixer - as in recording a mix in real-time - but i can't find a way to do that using the main mixer.

is this a "non-feature" or am i missing something obvious?

any help would be greatly appreaciated

thanks
  #2  
Old 2013-02-18, 10:36
Benedict's Avatar
Benedict Benedict is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,928
I'm not sure I have the answer for you but 2 things come to mind.

1) you can Bind a controller to a device so I'm guessing that means you could bind a controller to a Mixer and records that 'performance"

2) if there isn't another solution you could use the Direct Out of each Mix Channel and wire into a 14:2 Mixer and the do your 'performance" as you used to. Either leave that there (no extra noise or anything) or drag the automation into the Mix Tracks and covert the Alien Clips (assuming the translate the data right).

I'm sure someone else has a better answer.

__________________
Benedict Roff-Marsh
- - - - - - - - - -
Music: Bandcamp
ReFills: OSC + Filter - Super Mono-Synth
  #3  
Old 2013-02-18, 16:12
rushdown's Avatar
rushdown rushdown is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 98
instead of me explaining skip to 6mins on this video it will show you how to group them http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F5FbvJ7O2V4
  #4  
Old 2013-02-18, 17:11
selig's Avatar
selig selig is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,517
I wonder if the clue here is when the OP says:
"back in the old days i could do what i wanted on the 14:2 mixer"
Taking a guess here: I don't think this is about grouping etc, I think it may be about recording the movements of multiple faders at once in the Big Mixer like you could with the 14:2.

Since the 14:2 is a single device, it only needs one automation track. But with the Big Mixer, each channel is a separate device and needs it's own automation track. This means you must create a track for each channel before it can record automation moves.

I haven't found a way to create automation tracks for multiple faders at once, so you'll have to right-click on each fader and choose "Edit Automation". Note that only the most recently created automation track will be armed for recording, so you'll have to arm each track you wish to record, and then hit the record button and start automating!

This is one area where I feel Reason could improve a bit, by adding an "arm/disarm all or selected" (preferably in the mixer section as well as the sequencer section) and "suspend all" automation modes for temporarily disabling all automation (quite handy, actually). I find I use those commands quite a bit when using automation in other software. :-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
  #5  
Old 2013-02-18, 18:27
hexaet hexaet is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 15
yes selig - that's what i wanted - guess i'll have to put it in the "request/ idea" forum (or whatever it's called.)
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fader Automation sweetbutt General Forum (read only) 2 2013-01-21 22:52
Fader Automation Question(s) mcustode Phead User Forum (read only) 4 2012-09-24 18:25
fader automation not work on nn xt, kong limbophonic Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2011-07-21 14:23
Can someone explain better the pre- sends on ssl tintala Phead User Forum (read only) 13 2011-07-06 17:04


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:47.